SWAG Western inaugurated

The western regional branch of the Sports Writers’ Association of Ghana (SWAG) has been inaugurated on Saturday at the Naakof Hotel in Takoradi with about 50 sports journalists from neighbouring towns within western region and the western north.

Speaking at the event,  Mr Joseph Cudjoe, MP and Deputy Energy Minister, admonished members of SWAG to reduce unconstructive criticism and concentrate on developmental sports reporting.

He asked members to emulate the legendary SWAG president, Mr Kwabena Yeboah, “who has survived the work and built an untainted personal brand because of his style of reportage.”

The MP, who has built sporting facilities in his constituency, pledged his support to SWAG Western region in helping the association grow and become relevant.

In his inaugural address, Mr Yeboah admonished journalists to be fearless in constructive criticism and keep leaders on their toes.

He further stressed on the need for all practicing sports journalist to be under the umbrella of SWAG.

Western Regional Minister Kwabena Okyere Darko Mensah, Wilson Arthur of Skyy FC,  Mr Joseph Cudjoe (Deputy Minister for Energy),  and other top officials graced the occasion

SWAG Western, which is the fifth regional branch, is under the interim leadership of George Kuntu Blankson – Chairman, Anthony Ekow Essilfie – Vice Chairman, Joseph Mensah Oty Asrifi – Secretary, Kweku Sagoe- Ass Secretary, Stephen Kwame Yeboah – Organizer, Amy Fynn-Thompson – Welfare, Samuel Owusu  Bediako (J.M Ceaser) – Treasurer, Yaw Kyei Baffour – Member, James Kojo Bawa Anderson – Member and Umar Sander – Member.

The leadership has been tasked to steer the affairs of the newest SWAG’s infant body, bring all practicing sports journalists in western and the western north under the SWAG umbrella, offer welfare and training support for members.

The Western region, which boasts a vibrant sports media from radio, television and print is the third biggest in the media landscape in Ghana with about 40 radio stations, four television stations with correspondents for the national newspapers and portals.

The National Executive Council members present included General Secretary Charles Osei Asibey, Thomas Boakye Agyeman, Ohene Bampoe Brenya and Otuo Acheampong Sometyme.

Formed in 1968, SWAG is the umbrella body for sports journalists in the country and currently have inaugurated branches in Bono, Ashanti, Eastern Volta, Western regions and soon will move to the Northern Regions. – www.swagghana.com

Show More
Back to top button