GJA sets up 8 c’ttees to enhance welfare of journalists

The Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) has set up eight committees to handle various duties as part of efforts to enhance its administration and welfare of journalists.

The committees  include Constitution Review Committee (CRC), Ethics and Disciplinary Council (EDC), Membership Vetting Committee (MVC) and Professional Development Committee (PDC).

The rest are Social Affairs Committee (SAC), Finance and Resource Mobilisation Committee (FRMC), International Relations Committee (IRC) and Research Committee (RC).

The committees were set up in pursuance pursuant to Article 30 and 42 of the GJA Constitution, according a statement signed and issued by Kofi Yeboah, GJA Secretary, in Accra, yesterday.

It said the committees would be inaugurated by Kabral Blay-Amihere, a former GJA President, and former Chairman of the National Media Commission (NMC), tomorrow, Wednesday, February 5, 2020.

The 11-member CRC, chaired by Samson Lardy Anyenini, a private legal practitioner, and broadcaster,  had 30 days from the date of inauguration to complete its work, subject to extension of tenure.

It said the mandate of the five-member EDC, under the chairmanship of Col (Rtd) Mbawine Atintande, a media consultant, and former Director of the Public Affairs Directorate of the Ghana Armed Forces, included the promotion of high ethical standards  among members of the association and the enforcement of the GJA Code of Ethics.

According to the statement, Affail Monney, President of the GJA, is chairman of the MVC, which is mandated to amongst other things vet applications for membership and streamlining the procedure for such applications.

It said the PDC chaired by Linda Asante-Agyei, Vice President of the GJA, is to promote capacity-building and professional development of members of the association.

The National Organising Secretary of the GJA, Albert Kwabena Dwumfour, per the statement, is the chairman for the SAC, which has been tasked to manage social events and the welfare fund of the association.

It said the IRC, chaired by the Public Affairs Officer of the GJA, Mary Mensah, would promote cordial relations between the GJA and its international partners, and also explore international opportunities for the professional development of members.

The National Treasurer of the GJA, Audrey Dekalu, is the chairperson for the FRMC, which would mobilise and manage resources for activities of the association.

The  five-member RC  with the objective to use research as an underpinning for professional training of members, promotion of welfare of members and the development of the media in general, is chaired by Dr Anthony Bonnah-Koomson, media consultant.


Show More
Back to top button