EC clears 6 to contest Ejisu by-election April 30

 The Electoral Commission (EC) has cleared six candidates to contest in the upcoming Ejisu by-election in the Ashanti Region, scheduled for Tuesday, April 30, 2024.

The Ejisu seat has been vacant since March 7, 2024, following the death of its Member of Parliament (MP) and a deputy Minister of Finance, Dr John A. Kumah, who is yet to be buried.

The nominations opened by the EC were officially closed on Thursday, April 18, with six candidates, made up of two females and four males, successfully filling their nomi­nations and have been cleared to contest.

The candidates are: Esther Osei, representing the Con­vention People’s Party (CPP) and picking the number one spot, followed by the New Patriotic Party (NPP)’s Lawyer Kwabena Boateng, Beatrice Boakye of the Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG), and a for­mer NPP MP, who is contest­ing as an independent can­didate, Mr Kwabena Owusu Aduomi.

The other two candidates are Gabriel Agyemang Joseph and Attakorah Joseph both going independent and pick­ing the fifth and sixth posi­tions respectively.

The EC per the 1992 con­stitution, opened nominations on April 9 to hold a by-elec­tion to elect a representative for the constituency.

Meanwhile, the largest opposition party, the National Democratic Congress (NDC), has decided not to contest, stating that it was focusing on the December 7 General Election.

According to Mr Fifi Fiavi Kwetey, the NDC General Secretary, the decision was made to enable them channel all resources towards winning the Ejisu seat in the Decem­ber 2024 polls.

According to the 1992 Con­stitution, whenever a vacancy occurs in Parliament, the Clerk to Parliament shall no­tify the EC in writing within seven days after the vacancy occurred, and a by-election shall be held within 30 days after the vacancy occurred.

However, a by-election shall not be held within three months before the holding of a General Election.


Show More
Back to top button