5 car snatchers jailed 15 years each

The Tamale Circuit Court on Friday sentenced five car snatchers to 15 years in imprisonment each.

The court presided over by Judge Alexandra Oworae, convicted them on their own pleas of guilty.

The convicts; Ibrahim Issah 27; Mohammed Mustapha, 23; Vivor Christopher, 27; Benyamin Ajyei, 23, and Seyram Addo, 29, were arrested for snatching a Toyota Camry, at a Bavim, a suburb of Tamale.

They all pleaded guilty to conspiracy to rob, robbery, possession of firearms and ammunition without lawful authority and possession of police and military accoutrements.

The sixth suspect, Alhassan Mohammed, a teacher, who was arrested in connection with the case, has been remanded in prison custody to reappear on February 9, 2022

He was alleged to be an informant to the gang, and he pleaded not guilty to the charges.

It would be recalled that two weeks ago the five car snatchers were arrested by the Buipe police highway patrol team at Sawaba checkpoint in two vehicles with registration numbers AS8445-19 and GX6923-20.


Show More
Back to top button