New JUSAG  executives sworn

The newly elected executives of the Judicial Service Staff Association of Ghana (JUSAG) were on Tuesday sworn into office to serve a four-year term, from 2022 – 2026.

The six-member executive comprised the president Samuel Afotey Otu, Vice President  Samuel Lartey, General Secretary Abdulai Yakubu, Deputy General Secretary Joyce Assan, Treasurer Owusu Kankam and Women’s Commissioner Hannah Boachie.

They were joined by the National Executives Council (NEC) to take the oath of office administered by Justice Irene Charity Larbi, a justice of the Appeal Court.

The ceremony performed at the Supreme Court was presided over by the Chief Justice, Justice Anin-Yeboah with High Court Justice, Justice Richard Apietu also present.

In a brief speech, the Chief Justice urged the new executives to always prioritise the interest of their members on all occasions.

He assured the new leadership of the support of his office to ensure their term in office was a success.

On his part, the new president Samuel Afotey Otu, said they would burden themselves with improving the mandate of their members adding that they were going to engage in service without fear or favour.

He promised an open door policy where suggestions and contributions would always be welcomed from members.

Outgoing president, Alex Nartey, described the two terms his administration served from 2014 to 2022 as a time of major developmental and improved services of the judicial service staff.

He referenced the successful negotiation for the judicial service staff to opt out of the single spine salary structure and the reinstatement of the study leave policy which resulted in some 50 staff of the service studying law to become lawyers as hallmarks chalked.

The new JUSAG leadership was elected on August 5, this year, at the association’s 1st Quadrennial Delegates’ Conference held at the University of Health and Allied Sciences.


Show More
Back to top button