Iheanacho left out of Nigeria squad for AFCON

Leicester City forward Kelechi Iheanacho has been left out of Nigeria’s final squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

The 22-year-old had earned a spot in the 25-man provisional squad last month, despite a patchy run of form.

But Iheanacho, who is still searching for his first international goal since scoring against Argentina in 2017 and was the subject of strong criticism from Rohr earlier this year, has been made to wait for his first appearance at the continental showpiece.

The other omission from the party to Egypt is another England-based midfielder, Semi Ajayi, who plays for Rotherham United.

Related Articles

Other than that, the majority of the players that featured on the global stage at the 2018 World Cup in Russia are named in Gernot Rohr’s squad.

Nigeria’s opening match will be against Burundi on June 22 at the Alexandria Stadium, Alexandria.

Nigeria’s 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany)

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Middlesbrough, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjylland, Denmark); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal, Spain). –BBC

Show More
Back to top button