Bafana squad list announced

Bafana Bafana Coach Hugo Broos has announced the 23-man squad to face Morocco in the opening match of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

Broos originally selected 37 players to a preliminary squad about 10 days ago and has now reduced it to the 23 players who will do battle against a side he said was the team to beat in group K after the continental football governing body, the Confederation of African Football (Caf), confirmed the draw for the 2023 Afcon last month.

The Bafana Bafana versus Morocco match will take place at Prince Moulay Abdellah Stadium in the North African country’s coastal city of Rabat on  June 9.

South Africa is in group K, which includes Liberia. The fourth team, Zimbabwe, is suspended from international tournaments and won’t participate in the qualifiers.


Goalkeepers:Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), VeliMothwa (AmaZulu), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs).

Defenders: NyikoMobbie (Sekhukhune United), KhulisoMudau, Grant Kekana, Lyle Lakay, (all MamelodiSundowns), BandileShandu, Innocent Maela (both Orlando Pirates), ThibangPhete (Belenenses, Portugal), TaariqFielies, Terrence Mashego (both Cape Town City).

Midfielders: SpepheleSithole (Belenenses, Portugal), Goodman Mosele (Orlando Pirates), Yusuf Maart (Sekhukhune), PhathutshedzoNange (Chiefs).

Strikers: ThembinkosiLorch (Pirates), Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC), Khanyisa Mayo (City), FagrieLakay (Pyramids, Egypt), Lyle Foster (Westerlo, Belgium), BongokuhleHlongwane (Minnesota FC, USA), Percy Tau (Al Ahly, Egypt). –Reuters

Show More
Back to top button