South Africa names AFCON squad

BAFANA Bafana coach Stuart Baxter named his final 23-man AFCON squad on Sunday, omitting Fortune Makaringe, Ben Motshwari and Kermit Erasmus from those who have been in camp throughout the week at Steyn City School in Fourways.

Already missing from the week-long camp were Keagan Dolly (groin injury) and Rivaldo Coetzee, who left to be with his ailing mother in the Northern Cape.

Coach Baxter has retained most of the players who have been doing duty in the AFCON qualifiers, with goalkeepers being Darren Keet, Ronwen Williams and Bruce Bvuma.

He has kept the bulk of his tried-and-tested defenders and midfielders while the strike force will be spearheaded by Percy Tau, Lebo Mothiba, Lars Veldwijk, Lebogang Maboe and Sibusiso Vilakazi.

Baxter said he was pained to drop Makaringe, Motshwari and Erasmus a day before the squad flies out to Dubai on Monday, but assured the three that their future in top flight football was bright.

In Dubai, Bafana Bafana will play against Ghana in an international friendly before heading to Egypt where they will play another friendly.

Bafana Bafana are in Group D, together with Ivory Coast who they play in their opening Group game on June 24, Namibia and Morocco. Hosts Egypt face Zimbabwe in the opener on June 21. – SuperSport

Show More
Back to top button