Yapei-Kusawgu NPP youth decry neglect

A youth group calling itself the ‘Coalition of Aggrieved Foot Soldiers’ of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Yapei-Kusawgu Constituency of the Savannah Region has expressed disappointment in the President for not considering a single person from the constituency for appointment in his government since 2017.

According to them, “the constituency is endowed with well qualified and experienced people but has since 2017 not seen a single appointment apart from the District Chief Executive”.

They alleged that information gathered by the youth indicated that no one from the constituency would be given any appointment despite their efforts in the 2020 parliamentary elections.

Addressing a press conference at Yapei on Monday, the leader of the Coalition, Tanko Malik, said though the Savannah Region has had nine appointments, the Yapei-Kusawgu Constituency was yet to get one.

He noted that the constituency and the district had equally qualified personalities to be appointed as Chief Executive Officers, board members and other positions to drive the socioeconomic development of the areas but had not even been considered for any appointment by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

Mr Malik questioned why the constituency had been neglected over the years by the NPP government since they were also citizens and appealed to President Akufo-Addo to take another look at their neglect and appoint people of good standing from the constituency to higher positions.

“President Akufo-Addo has so far appointed nine sons of the Savannah Region to his government but sadly, Yapei-Kusawgu constituency and, for that matter, Central Gonja district has once again been denied the national cake,” he lamented and threatened to advise themselves “if the president and the party fails to address their concerns.

“Since 2017, no youth from the constituency has been employed in any entity, neither has any of our leaders had any appointment yet we call ourselves party foot soldiers. What is our crime?”

“In the 2020 general election, the New Patriotic Party’s Nana Akufo-Addo obtained 15,779 votes, representing 32.90 per cent behind the National Democratic Congress’s (NDC’s) John Mahama, who obtained 31,250 votes representing 65.17 per cent.

“For the parliamentary election, incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) John Abdulai Jinapor of the NDC obtained 28,254, representing 59.05 per cent, to beat NPP’s Iddrisu Salia, who obtained 19,594 votes, representing 40.95 per cent,” Mr Malik indicated. -3news.com

Show More
Back to top button