Who rules at the 20th edition of VGMA tonight?

The Accra international Conference Centre (AICC) will be the centre of attraction today as music lovers gather to announce the ‘overlord’ of Ghana music at the 20th edition of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards.

Kuami Eugene

This year’s event is under the theme; ‘Celebrating Our People, Our Culture & Our Music’.

Interestingly, one of the artistes would be adjudged Artiste of the Decade, for his or her positive contribution to Ghana music some 10 years ago.

One of the categories to attract all and Sundry, is the ultimate category, Artiste of The Year contest, where, two self-acclaimed dancehall kings, Stonebwoy, the President of BHIM Nation, and Shatta Wale, the ‘Commander-in-Chief’ of the Shatta Movement(SM) will ‘clash’.


In that same category, gospel music dynamo, Joe Mettle would have to rely on miracle to outwit other serious competitors like, Ghana’s great export in rap, Sarkodie, and young amazing talents, Kuame Eugene, and King Promise.

Another interesting category would be the Song of the Year, where Ghanaians would get to know the song which ruled the airwaves in the year under review, out of this list, Kwani Kwani Pt2 by Tic, Sarkodie’s Can’t Let You Go, Kpoo Keke from Stonebwoy,Shatta Wale’sMy Level, Woara, by  Kwesi Arthur, Come and See My Moda by  MzVee, Yaa Pono’s Obiaa Wone Master , Thunder  from KiDi’s repertoire, Wish Me Well  by Kuami Eugene, CCTV  by King Promise , Do The Dance  by  Eddie Khae, Evangelist Isaac Kwabena Aning’s, Boboleboboand Akwaaba by Guilty Beatz.

Shatta Walw

It would be be intriquing to see who is adjudged as the artiste with the soothing voice in Female Vocalist of the Year category, as these divas, eShun, Efya, Cina Soul, Adina, Diana Hamilton and MzVee ‘faceoff’.

In the Male Vocalist of the Year contest,King Promise, KiDi, Akwaboah, and Luigi Maclean, will prove their worth in the music industry.


Clearly, the Rapper of the Year category will be a hard nut to crack, the likes of
Medikal, M.anifest, Teephlow, Sarkodie, and Obibini, will battle it out for who has the strongest punchlines and style in playing with words.

Hiplife/Hiphop Artiste of the Year category, will see the “Scopatumana man” Patapaa, who would have to prove his uniqueness against Medikal, Sarkodie, Kwesi Arthur, R2Bees
and La Meme Gang.

Wendy Shay

To ensure musicians write compelling and inspiring lyrics, Fuse ODG’s Bra Fie,  Forgive by Teephlow, Akwaboah’s Hye Me Bo,  CCTV by King Promise, Trigmatic’s  Where We Dey Go, and Stonebwoy’s – Tomorrow   will be competing in the Songwriter of the Year.

One of these wonderful rising stars, Quamina MP, Kelvyn Boy, Eddie Khae, Wendy Shay, La Meme Gang and Dope Nation, would be adjudged Best New Artiste of the Year.

Joe Mettle

For Album of the Year category, it would not be a straight fight for  Reign by Shatta Wale, as he faces stiff opposition from albums like, Rockstar, Kuami Eugene, I Believe, by Diana Hamilton, Samini’s, Untamed  and Shay On You  by Wendy Shay.

There would be other exciting categories up for grabs by musicians and some industry players who had excelled over the past year.

Diana Hamilton

The awards scheme instituted 20 years ago, by CharterHouse, had rewarded deserving artistes for their hard work, dedication and contribution to the growth of music in Ghana.

By Edem Mensah-Tsotorme

Show More

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker