TEWU honours 27 past national officers

The Teachers and Educational Workers’ Union, TEWU of TUC-Ghana, has honoured 27 past national officers, for their dedication and sacrifices in promoting the growth of the union and consolidating the gains over the years.

The ceremony which took place at the union’s hospitality facility at Lapaz, over the weekend saw the awardees made up of 12 females and 15 males, presented with plaques which had inspirational and appreciative words, in addition to cash donation to every officer.

The past officers celebrated at the event were; the immediate past National Chairman– Mr. Peter K. Lumor, First National Vice Chairman- Mr. Bismark Bawah, Second National Vice Chairperson, Ms Florence Agyei-Wiredu, – First National Trustee- Mr. William Adjei-Twumasi, General Secretary- Mr. AugustineSaakuur-Karbo.

The others are TEWU Women’s Committee National President, Ms Johanna Hammond, Women’s Committee National Vice President- Ms Ethel Nyadroh, Women’s Committee National Secretary-Ms Gloria Aba Kinful, Women’s Committee Second National Trustee -Ms Janet Emefa Obro-Adibo, Women’s Committee-Northern Regional President-Ms Okailey Randolf and Women’s Committee Northern Regional Secretary, Ms Diana Serwaa Ali. 

The rest of the recipients were members of the National Executive Council (NEC); Finance Committee and TEWU Fund Board of Trustees.

The ceremony was witnessed by Mr Joshua Ansah, the Deputy Secretary General of the Trades Union Congress, TUC-GHANA,

The General Secretary, TEWU of TUC-Ghana, Mr Mark Dankyira Korankye, in his remarks, noted that it was important to honour the awardees for the sacrifices made adding that it would serve as a source of motivation for the young generation.

According to Mr Korankye, the honoring of the personalities would help ignite the spirit of sacrifice which he said had eluded workers in many institutions.

“One issue that worries me these days is that, it looks like the spirit of sacrifice is eluding us, and people are not willing to put their lives down for the sake of the vulnerable,” Mr Korankye said.

“It is my expectation that occasion such as awarding people who have diligently serve their institutions, and impacted positively on the lives of the vulnerable in particular, will be a shining example so that we also strive to bring the union up to a certain level where others will come and continue from where we left”, Mr Korankye added.

Delivering the welcome address, the National Chairman, TEWU of TUC-Ghana, Mr. Ambrose Yao Kwadzodza commended the past officers for their hard work and dedication shown.

He also urged young personalities to stay committed to their union adding that “it is our desire to get every young person to serve their unions with hearts and not their personal interests so that their members will be served well”.

Speaking on behalf of the awardees, the immediate past National Chairman, TEWU of TUC-Ghana, Mr Peter K. Lumor thanked TEWU of TUC-Ghana, for the honour.

According to him, excellent leadership required patience, learning and mentorship and for this reason encouraged young aspiring union leaders to be mentored, exercise patience and learn.

“I wish to encourage those coming after us to exercise patience, to learn, they should be prepared to be mentored.

Unfortunately, the union leaders we are seeing are people who have not learnt, they have not been mentored, they have read some text books and they think that is all about leadership”, Mr Lumor said.

“I urge people aspiring for union leadership to be mentored, study under experienced people and they will make it or succeed as we have also done and today, the national officers deem it appropriate to celebrate and honour us”, Mr Lumor added.


Show More
Back to top button