‘Sustainability of Youth Parliament will strengthen democracy’

The Public Affairs Directorate of the Akatsi South Youth Parliament, has urged Metropolitan Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDCEs) to liaise effectively with the National Commission for Civic Education for the sustainability of the Youth Parliament.

It explained that the sustainability of the programme would strengthen democratic governance and inculcate in the youth to embrace the tenets of democracy.

“The Youth Parliament concept was to provide single formalised youth structure at the metropolitan, municipal, district, regional, and national levels for the youth to air their frustrations, deliberate on Issues of youth progress, development and hold duty bearers accountable,” the Directorate said.

Brandford Amedoda, the Director of Public Affairs at the Akatsi South Youth Parliament, admonished the youth to remain focus, resolute and steadfast to propel themselves for leadership roles in all spheres of endeavour to transform society in a democratic environment.

He tasked them to eschew negative tendencies that would retard the progress, growth and development of the country and take advantage of the democratic dispensation to create job and wealth opportunities.

Mr Amedoda expressed gratitude to the chiefs and people of Akatsi South who, in diverse ways, played major roles for the sustainability of the Youth Parliament and appealed for the continuation of their support and assistance towards youth development.

“The House deemed it fit and necessary to congratulate them for their new respective positions and for lifting the name of Akatsi South and the people of Avenor higher,” he said.

Daniel Kale, the Speaker of the Akatsi South Youth Parliament and Reverend Francis Mordey, the Minority Chief Whip, have been elected into the Volta Regional Youth Parliament with Mr Kale elected the Minority Leader while Rev. Mordey would serve as Minority Chief Whip, after the two contested for their positions unopposed which took place at the beginning of the first session of the Second Youth Parliament of the Volta Region

Other regional members include Faisal Abdul-Iddrisu as Speaker, Daniel Sosoo as First Deputy Speaker, Stephen Gadasu as Second Deputy Speaker, Juliet Kormedola, Deputy Minority Leader, and David Akukumah as Majority Leader. -GNA

Show More
Back to top button