Surgeon, lawyer win NDC parliamentary primaries

A surgeon at the University of Cape Coast Medical School, Dr Grace Ayensu-Dankwa and a private legal practitioner Philis Naa Koryoo have been chosen by delegates of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Essikado-Ketan Constituency in the Western Region and the Awutu Senya East Constituency in the Central Region respectively to lead the party as its parliamentary candidates in the 2020 general election.

At the end of the parliamentary primary held on Saturday, Dr Ayensu-Dankwa polled 594 votes of the 677 valid total votes cast, while Victor Henry Abbey Hearts, her contender, lost with 80 votes.

Ms Koryoo polled 505 votes against her closest contender, Alex Agbesi Aborgeh’s 251with the other contenders for the parliamentary primaries Kwaku Kangah Kesse who polled 199 votes, Daniel Awer who polled 74 votes, Perez Laryea managed with only six votes, Haruna Tetteh and Ebenezer Ofosu Yalley polled 98 and 30 votes respectively.

The Essikado-Ketan and Awutu Senya East constituencies were part of the 23 constituencies across the country barred from holding primaries when the party organised its national parliamentary primaries on August 24, 2019.

Dr Ayensu-Darkwa, is also the Founder and the Chief Executive Officer of Healing Hands Organisation, a non-governmental organisation focusing on medical/surgical care to the vulnerable and needy who have no access to proper healthcare and also free medical supplies and equipment to clinics and hospitals in rural communities.

She is a member of the Ghana FDA advisory team for vaccines and biological products, a professor of medicine at the University of Utah in the United States and at the Cape Coast University Medical School, a fellow of the American College of Surgeons and a fellow of Ghana College of Physicians and Surgeons.

There were reports of some misunderstanding in the two constituencies the party felt it was not safe to organise the elections in that constituency but were cleared to hold the polls on Saturday October 19, 2019.

Samuel Ofosu Ampofo, the National Chairman of the NDC, said the unity of the party was paramount for the NDC’s victory in 2020 and called on all aspirants to unite after the polls.

Naa Koryoo will battle it out with the incumbent New Patriotic Party (NPP) MP, Mavis Hawa Koomson who is also the Minister for Special Development Initiatives, in the 2020 general elections. –

Show More
Back to top button