Re-composition of Select, Standing C’ttees of Parliament

Mr Frederick Opare-Ansah, Member of Parliament (MP) for Suhum, is to replace Mr Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, Member of Parliament (MP) for Assin Central, as Chairman of Parliament’s Committee on Communications, the Committee of Selection of Parliament has announced.

Mr Agyapong woul now head the Committee on Local Government.

The changes, which are part of a re-composition of the Select and Standing Committees of the House, according to a report of Committee of Selection, “became necessary due, among other considerations, to the need to enhance the performance and effectiveness of the committees of the House.”

The Committee of Selection of Parliament said some chairpersons and members have been appointed as ministers of state, deputy ministers of state, regional ministers as well as deputy regional ministers“, and the frequent absence of such key members adversely impacted the effectiveness of the committees.

Dr Dominic Ayine, MP for Bolgatanga East, and former Deputy Attorney-General, also replaces Mr Mahama Ayariga, MP for Bawku Central and Chairman of the Committee on Subsidiary Legislation.

Mr Ben Abadallah Banda, MP for Offinso South, maintains his position as Chairman of the Constitutional Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Committee, and is also the Chairman of the Judiciary Committee.

Dr Mark Assibey-Yeboah, MP for New Juaben South is still the Chairman of the Finance Committee. Mr William Agyepong Quaitoo, MP for Akim Oda, replaces Mr Siaka Stevens, MP for Jaman North as Chairman of the Committee on Education.

Professor Aaron Michael Oquaye, the Speaker of Parliament, is the Chairman of the Standing Orders and the Committee on Selection; as Mr Joseph Osei-Owusu, First Deputy Speaker chairs the Privileges Committee and the Appointments Committee.

Second Deputy Speaker Alban Sumana Bagbin is the Chairman of the Committee on Members Holding Offices for Profit.

Mr Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, Majority Leader and MP for Suame, is the Chairman of the Special Budget Committee, House Committee and the Business Committee.

Dr James Klutse Avedzi, Deputy Minority Leader and MP for Ketu North Constituency, is the Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee.

In all, there are 14 standing committees; one special or ad-hoc committee and 16 select committees. – GNA

Show More
Back to top button