Rawlings congratulates Mahama

Former President Jerry John Rawlings has congratulated former President John Dramani Mahama on his election as the presidential candidate of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) for election 2020.

Similarly, he pat the other six contenders on the back, for the “dignified manner they conducted themselves throughout the process and for accepting the results in a mature and good-natured manner”.

This was contained in a statement issued by Mr Kobina Andoh Amoakwa of the Communications Directorate of the office of the former president, in Accra, yesterday and copied to the Ghanaian Times.

With about 21 months away to the 2020 general elections, he charged the rank and file of the party to put their act together as the just ended election was only the beginning of their preparation. 

“While congratulating ourselves as a party for the relatively smooth process, we have to remember that this is only the first step of the task to convince the larger Ghanaian electorate,” it said.

 The statement asked former President Mahama, the leadership and grassroots of the party to team up and guided by the party’s core principles, formulate a formidable strategy for the party.

“I urge the candidate, the party leadership and all the grassroots to work together to re-embrace the NDC’s core principles in a bid to crave a positive message and image for the party,” the statement said.

Former President Mahama last Saturday jumped his first hurdle in his journey back to presidency when he clocked a landslide victory with 213,487 votes representing 95.23 per cent of the total valid votes.

More than 270,000 delegates across the 275 constituencies of the country and council of elders and delegates from the Diaspora chose him to lead the party to reclaim the power the party lost in 2016.

A former Vice-Chancellor of University of Professional Studies, Accra (UPSA), Professor Joshua Alabi, came second with 3,404 votes while Second Deputy Speaker Alban Bagbin, placed third with 2,301 votes.

Businessman Goosie Tanoh, placed fourth with 2,091;  Dr Ekwow Spio-Garbrah, former Minister of Trade and Industry, came fifth with 1,447 votes  while  former Chief Executive Officer National Health Insurance Authority, Sylvester  Mensah and businessman, Alhaji Nurudeen Iddrisu had 934 votes and 520 votes respectively to place sixth and seventh.


Show More
Back to top button