Office the Special Prosecutor gets new Board

The Attorney General and Minister for Justice, Godred Dame, on has on Tuesday sworn in the second Board of the Office of the Special Prosecutor (OSP), in Accra.

The nine-member Board is charged with advising the Special Prosecutor (SP) on policy issues and aiding the office in the fight against corruption and corruption-related offenses.

Members of the Board include; Kissi Agyabeng, the Special Prosecutor, Vivian Lamptey, Deputy Special Prosecutor, Lawrence NdaagoAyagiba, Audit Service Representative, DCOP Wilfred BoahenFrimpong, Ghana Police Service Representative, Aba Jacqueline Opoku, Economic and Organised Crime Office (EOCO) Representative, Kofi Boahen A. Boakye, Financial Intelligence Center (FIC) Representative, Stephen Azantilow, Commission on Human Rights and Administrative Justice (CHRAJ) Representative, COP George Tuffour (Rtd), National Security Representative and Linda Ofori-Kwafo, Representative of Anti-Corruption Civil Society.

The National Security Representative was, however, absent at Tuesday’s swearing-in ceremony

Mr Dame noted that there were malicious, ill-motivated and often ill-researched comments about the SPO and resources at its disposal.

He said the media particularly, “owe a duty not to sensationalise reports affecting the Office of the Special Prosecutor in order not to create an impression of deliberate starvation of resources by the State, especially where same is unjustified.”

Mr Dame called for “real support of the public” for the Special Prosecutor and his Office, “not unconstructive and defeatist criticism.”

The Special Prosecutor, promised, that with the aid of the Board he would “work assiduously and in a harmonious fashion to attain the objects of the office.” –

Show More
Back to top button