Kpone-Katamanso Municipal Assembly fails to elect presiding member

The Kpone-Katamanso Municipal Assembly (KKMA) has failed for the second time to elect a presiding member after two rounds of voting.

In the first round, Jerry John Adjorlolo, a candidate and Assembly man for the Sraha Electoral Area, polled 17 out of 28 votes cast, while the other, Godfred Edunyah, a Governmental Appointee, obtained 11 votes.

The second round of voting saw Adjorlolo obtaining 17 votes while Edunyah got 11 votes.

It is recalled that on January 23, when the assembly was inaugurated KKMA could not elect a presiding member because Adjorlolo obtained 16 votes and Edunyah had 12 votes in both the first and second rounds of voting.

Due to the stalemate, the Electoral Officer for Kpone-Katamanso, Mrs Emefa Agbezulor, who supervised the elections, advised the two candidates to step aside for fresh nominations in accordance with the assembly’s standing order.

The standing order states that “where neither of the two candidates obtains the votes of two thirds of all members of the assembly on two consecutive run-offs held within 10 days, after the first run-off, the two candidates shall step aside for fresh nominations.”

The standing orders further state that “where fresh nominations are to be held, all persons who represented themselves for election as presiding members are not eligible to present themselves for fresh nominations.”

The date for a new election is yet to be decided.


Show More
Back to top button