How the regions reported the outcome of the primaries

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) held its parliamentary primaries for orphan constituencies across the country. We bring to our readers reports from our regional correspondents on the outcome of the primaries.

From Bolgatanga, Samuel Akapule reports that the Upper East Regional Executive of NPPsupported the Electoral Commission (EC) on Saturday to conduct the election for the NPP primaries in all the 12 orphan constituencies in the region peacefully without challenges.

In Bolgatanga Central, Rex Asanga, a community development practitioner polled 334 votes to beat his two contenders, the Bolgatanga Municipal Chief Executive, Joseph Amiyuure who secured 151 and Emmanuel Aphour, a retired officer of the Custom Division of the Ghana Revenue Authority polled 155.

 Boniface Gambilla, a board member of the Northern Development Authority became the party’s parliamentary candidate for the Nabdam constituency. He secured 147 votes to beat his opponent, Yen Sapark, who secured 101 votes.

From Mkroful in the Western Region, Clement Adzei Boye reports that Kwesi Bonzo,  the  District Chief Executive (DCE) for Ellembelle  in  the Western Region,  polled 359 votes, his main challenger, Anna Miezah, the Western Regional NPP Treasurer, got 262 votes and  Isaac  Menlah, also received nine votes.

 Patrick Amponteng, the DCE for Amenfi Central emerged the parliamentary candidate for the constituency when he polled 405 votes to defeat Alhaji Abbas Mohammed, who got 199 votes.

The Deputy Regional Minister of Savannah Region, Samuel Tika failed to secure the ticket to contest the Daboya-Mankarigu Constituency as he lost the parliamentary primaries to Mahama Seini.

In Zabzugu, the Deputy Northern Regional Minister, John Jabar defeated two others in a keenly contested primary when he polled 183 votes with  Labaran Fuseini and Mohammed Abubakari securing 99 and 77 votes respectively.

From the Upper West Region, Lydia Darlington Fordjour reports that four out of five municipal and district chief executives (MDCEs) from five orphan constituencies lost in the constituency primaries which included the MCE for Wa, Issahaku Moomin Tahiru, a third time contender in the primaries, who lost to a new entrant, Hajia Humu Awudu by 36 votes and Mrs Christine Bonbanye Amadu of Jirapa who fell behind former Member of Parliament Paul Deriguba.

Mr Deriguba joined the NPP after exiting the National Democratic Congress (NDC) to contest the general elections in 2012 and 2016 respectively as independent candidate. The primaries were conducted in six orphan constituencies in the Upper West Region with the delegates of Lambussie electing Mr Bright Yelviel-Dong Baligi as the NPP candidate for the 2020 elections.

The NPP in the Central Region elected parliamentary candidates for four orphan constituencies which currently have incumbent Members of Parliament from the National Democratic Congress (NDC), reports David O. Yarboi Tetteh, Cape Coast.

The constituencies are Komenda-Edina-Eguafo-Abrem (KEEA), Cape Coast South, Ajumako-Enyan-Essiam and Agona East. The Komenda-Edina-Eguafo-Abrem constituency witnessed the acclamation of Dr Joe Acquah, a lecturer at the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST) who went unopposed. For the Cape Coast South Constituency, the Cape Coast Metropolitan Chief Executive, Ernest Arthur was able to overcome the heat from his two main contenders by polling 271 votes.

Dr Ekow Selby, one of the candidates polled 110 votes while the other, Emmanuel Mensah had 133 votes. Two other contestants, Kojo Mensah and Stephen Dadson, polled out from the race on the day of the elections while the District Chief Executive for Ajumako-Enyan-Essiam, Ransford Nyarkoh failed in his bid to get the nod from delegates to represent the party in the 2020 parliamentary elections.

He obtained 232 votes and lost to Dr Rasheed Etuaful who had 411 votes. The other contestants, Elisha Odoom and Richard Hagan secured 67 and two votes respectively. Dr Etuaful would be slugging it out with the incumbent National Democratic Congress (NDC) Member of Parliament, Casiel Ato Forson in the 2020 parliamentary election.

In the Kpone-Katamanso Constituency, Hopeson Adorye was elected as parliamentary candidate for the 2020 general elections, reports Godfred Blay Gibba.

Mr Adorye polled 321 votes as compared to 203 obtained by William Asante and 56 by Prince Dadzie.

The other contestants David Quaye Annan got 46 while Mark Fuachie-Sobreh received 22 votes. Four ballots were rejected.

In the Ashaiman Constituency, Alhaji Yakubu Barry, was elected the parliamentary candidate when he polled 449 votes while Eric Kwatia had 378 votes, with Alexander Narh-Gbeeku receiving 203 votes while in the Ningo-Prampram Constituency Alexander L. Martey was elected the parliamentary candidate for Election 2020 when he polled 269 votes while the other contestant, Rita Addotey got 207 votes.


Show More

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker