Govt approves promotion for deserving NACOC officers -Ambrose Dery

The government has granted approval for the Director General of the Narcotics Control Commission, to commence processes for the promotion of officers due for promotion, Minister for the Interior, Mr Ambrose Dery has said.

He said promotion interviews were currently ongoing for eligible officers, as the Governing Board of the Commission awaits the report of the interview panel, to approve those who qualify to be promoted.

The Minister said this Wednesday when he inaugurateda 15-member reconstituted governing board of the Commission, at the Interior Ministry in Accra.

He said the government, having reconstituted the governing board of the Commission, had reposed confidence in them to provide appropriate policy guidance to achieve the mandate of the Commission.

Mr Dery said, the Commission Act, 2020 required that, a number of Legislative Instrument be passed as regulations to operationalise some critical provisions of Act 1019.

He explained that, key amongst these Legislative Instrument were the regulations on the terms and conditions of service staff of the commission.

He said the Narcotic Control Commission Regulations 2021, had been prepared and forwarded to the Subsidiary Legislation Committee of Parliament for consideration.

“Furthermore, the Narcotic Control Commission Regulation 2021, which is to operationalize the special provision on cannabis provided for in section 43 of Act 1019, have also been prepared and receiving due attention.

“Nonetheless, several other regulations, as specified in section 112 of Act 1019, await the attention of the Board to operationalise certain provisions of Act, 1019,” Mr Dery said.

Members of the Governing Board are Mr J.K. Mensah, Chairman (President’s Nominee); CSO Aba Jacqueline Opoku (Economic and Organized Crime); Mrs. Delese A.A.Darko (Food and Drugs Authority);Mr Isaac Kofi Egyir (Ghana Prisons Service);Mr Laud OforiAffrifa (Ghana Immigration Service).

Mrs. Yvonne Atakora Obuobisa (Office of Attorney-General); Mr Edward Asomani (National Security Council Secretariat);Mr Francis K. Torkonoo (Narcotics Control Commission); Colonel Zibrim Ayorrogo (Ghana Armed Forces); and Mrs. Adelaide Anno-Kumi (Interior Ministry).

The rest are Alhaji Mahama Asei Seni (Ministry of Health); Mrs. Lucy Abebrese (Financial Intelligence Centre);Mr Fredrick Ahenkorah (Customs Division of Ghana Revenue Authority (GRA));Mr Benjamin K. Gyasi (Ministry of Education) and ACP Frederick Kwadwo Agyei (Ghana Police Service).


Show More
Back to top button