Draw procedure for AFCON 2019

FOLLOWING articles published in some media concerning the draw procedure for the Total African Cup of Nations 2019, the Confédération Africaine de Football (CAF) has said that the website is the only official communication of CAF competitions.

In accordance with the statutes and regulations of CAF, the procedure for the draw of the Total AFCON, Egypt 2019 will be submitted to the AFCON Organising Committee and approved by the Executive Committee.

CAF is not responsible for the presumptions published or to appear in the media.

An official statement will be published on the CAF website as soon as it the procedure will be approved by the Executive Committee.

Related Articles

Meanwhile, the 2019 AFCON draw will be held at the Giza Pyramids and Sphinx tomorrow.

Egypt was annouced as hosts after original host Cameroon was stripped of its duties due to delays in its preparations for the expanded 24-team tournament.The African Cup of Nations will start on June 21 and end on July 13.

Below are the seedings for Friday’s draw.

First seed: Egypt, Ghana, Tunisia, Ivory Coast, Cameroon and Senegal

Second seed: Morocco, Nigeria, DR Congo, Algeria, Mali and Guinea

Third seed: Uganda, South Africa, Guinea-Bissau, Zimbabwe, Angola and Burundi

Fourth seed: Mauritania, Namibia, Benin, Kenya, Tanzania and Madagascar.


Show More
Back to top button