Bono, Upper West, Volta regional NDC hold election

Seven out of 37 aspi­rants went unopposed while other positions were keenly contest­ed in the National Democratic Congress’ regional elections here.

The seven unopposed were all incumbents, namely the regional chairman, Kwadwo Nyame­kye-Marfo; secretary, Dennis Yeboah Twumasi and deputy secretary, Peter Asuaka Lonyian.

Others are the organiser, Mo­hammed Seidu; treasurer, Isaac Amponsah Badu; communication officer and deputy communication officer, Charles Akowuah Tuffour and Eric Yeboah respectively.

For the women organiser po­sition, Hajia Fati Abubakari had 22 votes to beat Agnes Kusi who managed 13 votes.

Ahmed Rashid polled 36 votes to beat off competition from Jon Ayaaba who had 11 votes for the youth organiser position.

From Wa, RAFIA ABDUL RAZAK reports that delegates of the NDC in the Upper West Region have retained Mr Abdul Nasir Saani known as (Bunas) as regional chairman for the next four years.

Mr Abdul Nasir Saani polled 227 votes to beat his only com­petitor in the race, Mr Alhassan Adams who polled 157 votes.

For the vice chairmanship, Kwame Mumuni won the position while Charles Lwanga Puozu­ing polled 233 votes to win the secretary position ahead of his contender, Nicodemus Dery who had 151 votes.

The other elected executives, include Mr Thomas Saad Ngmin­bahaara, organiser; Mr Iddrisu Mahmoud, deputy organiser, Mr Abdulai Batiah Santi, treasurer; Mr Abdulai Alhassan, deputy trea­surer, Mr Basiera Saankara, youth organiser; Mr Zakaria Abdul-Ra­haman, deputy youth organiser.

Issah Kantangyeri polled 203 votes to beat incumbent commu­nication officer Prosper Puo-Ire. Other elected executives included, Madam Prisca Domenyevi Kuupol Bagonluri as women organiser; Eunice Kaminta as deputy com­munication officer and Yahaya Dauda Mwining Pagra-Olo as the Zongo caucus coordinator.

The newly elected chairman speaking in an interview after the election, thanked the delegates for the confidence reposed in him and the other elected executives. He promised to work with the party members to ensure victory in the 2024 general election.

He said he would not only work with the executives but also work with the defeated candidates to achieve the common agenda of winning the elections.

He appealed to all members of party to support the newly elected executives to strengthen the bond and ensure it succeed in the elections.

The election was supervised by the Electoral Commission in the region and it was peaceful even though supporters of winners jubilated till midnight.

The Ghana News Agency re­ports that, Mawu­tor Agbavitor has been elected as the new Volta Regional Chair­man.

He polled 203 votes to beat the incumbent Henry Ametefe who se­cured 130 votes.

The former vice chairman, George Loh came second with 181 votes followed by Francis Doe, who garnered 62 votes and Marshall Emil Ackumey with five votes, at the close of the polls held on Sat­urday at the Ho Technical Univer­sity Auditorium.

Egypt Kwabla Kudoto secured 220 votes and Divine Fiakpui Dzahini gar­nered 193 votes to be elected as first and second vice chairmen respectively, while Bridget Simpi- 67 votes, Mandfred Nuki-Dei- 20 votes and Tu­maku John-79 votes lost their bids.

James Gunu the incumbent secretary obtained 456 votes to retain his position as his contend­ers Gladstone Stanley and Albert Laurent Sakabutu secured 14 and 110 votes respectively.


Show More
Back to top button