…as Christopher Arthur defeats incumbent in Agona West Constituency primaries

he Member of Par­liament for Agona West, Mrs Cynthia Mamle Morrison, has lost her bid to contest this year’s parliamentary elections on the ticket of the New Patri­otic Party (NPP).

During the party’s par­liamentary primaries at the weekend, the former Minis­ter of Gender, Children and Social Protection managed to obtain 152 votes.

She was defeated by Christopher Arthur who garnered 240 votes.

The closest contender to the winner was Ben Yamoah who polled 221 votes while Yawson Otoo, and Joseph Afankwa secured 169 votes and 155 votes respectively.

In his acceptance speech, Mr Arthur, expressed his appreciation to the del­egates for their support during the entire process.

He appealed unity among the rank and file of the party in order for the party to win this year’s general election.

Delegates from the Constituency had to wait to select their candidate when the election was suspend­ed following a legal battle regarding the election.

The injunction was placed by Joseph Afankwa follow­ing his disqualification in the election.

He was later reinstated by the party to contest the primaries leading to the subsequent holding of the exercise in the Constituency.



Show More
Back to top button