Another Delta Force member remanded

Another member of the Delta Force, a vigilante group, linked to the New Patriotic Party (NPP), has been remanded into police custody for one week by a Kumasi Circuit court.

He is believed to be among the group that allegedly stormed a meeting ground of the Old Tafo Constituency, and chased out the Member of Parliament of the area, Dr Anthony Akoto Osei.

Rabiu Suala, who was arrested by the police on Monday, October 15, 2018, has been charged with conspiracy to cause unlawful damage, causing unlawful damage and rioting.

His plea was not taken, and the court presided by Mrs Lydia Osei Marfo remanded him to re-appear on October 24, 2018.

The prosecutor, Assistant Superintendent of Police, Philip Jagri, prayed the court to adjourn the case to allow ample time for further investigations into the matter.

Suala and two other accomplices, Richard Yaw Brefo, 51, and Paul Attah Onyinah, 49, who are also on remand, are facing prosecution for the charges leveled against them after they allegedly disrupted the meeting between Dr Akoto and party members on Sunday, October 7, 2018.

The Ghanaian Times on October 9, 2018, reported an incident where the vigilante group of the ruling NPP stormed the constituency meeting, causing chaos and bringing the meeting to an abrupt end.

Dr Akoto, who is the Minister of Monitoring and Evaluation, however, escaped unhurt as he was whisked away from the meeting.

The angry group, who were said to have destroyed party items in protest, accused Dr. Akoto of failing to keep promises made to them in 2016 polls.

A video of the incident which had gone viral on social media saw the angry group making attempts to pounce  on the minister but for the timely intervention of some of the constituency executives he would have been attacked.

The Communications Director of the constituency, Amoah Gregory, has condemned the act, saying “I want to state that, indeed some faceless people came to cause mayhem and disturbed our meeting with the MP, but the target was not the MP but some constituency executive members.”


Print Friendly

Leave a Comment