47th SWAG Awards Night… Amoah, Kudus, Mensah vie for top award

The crème de la crème of Ghana sports would con­verge on the Accra International Conference Centre (AICC) today as 40 sports athletes and institutions are rewarded by the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) at its 47th Awards Night.

Christened the ‘MTN/ADA­MUS 47TH SWAG Awards, ath­letes would compete for individual awards in recognition of their performance in 2022.

Blending beautifully with an impressive entertainment pack­age that will have female music icon Wendy Shay, Ashely Chuks and OB Amponsah on the bill, it suggests to be a memorable night in the history of the awards that will also see administrators pick awards.

The General Secretary of SWAG, Mr Charles Osei Asibey, told the Times Sports in an inter­view that “the shortlisted nomi­nees went through a sturdy ritual of careful and rigorous process in the determination of top perform­ers for honours.”

Characteristically, the high­light of the evening’s awards would be the fierce contest for the Personality of the Year award to be vied for by Joseph Paul Amoah – Athletics, Moham­med Kudus – football and Abra­ham Mensah – amateur boxing.

Joseph Paul Amoah will return to also compete for the Male Athlete of the Year award with Benjamin Kweku Azamati with the female version of that gong to be vied for by Abigail Kwarteng, Triple Jumper, Deb­orah Acquah, Long Jumper and Rose Yeboah Amoanimaah, High Jumper.

Other awards include: Arm­wrestler of the Year – Grace Mintah – female; Badminton Player of the Year – Alphous Kelvin; Boxer of the Year, am­ateur – Abraham Mensah against Joseph Commey; Chess Player of the Year – Dr. Kwabena Adu Poku; Club of the Year – Ampem Darkoa Ladies FC; Cricketer of the Year – Samson Awiah Aweh and Cyclist of the Year – Antho­ny Boafo Boakye Dankwa.

The Footballer of the Year (Male) award would be between Andre Dede Ayew, Mohammed Kudus and Thomas Partey; Footballer of the Year (Female) will be between Blessing Shine Agomashie (ASFAR, Morocco); Ophelia Serwaa Amponsah (Am­pem Darkoa) and Doris Boaduwaa (Hasaacas Ladies, Ghana).

Below are the rest of the awards – Footballer of the year (Home Based) – Daniel Afriyie Barnieh – Hearts of Oak, Yaw Annor – Ashantigold and Ibrahim Danlad – Asante Kotoko; Coach of the Year – Ofori Asare – Am­ateur Boxing, Husseini Akueteh Addy – Armwrestling, Prosper Nartey Ogun – Asante Kotoko and Nana Darkwa, Ampem Darkoa; Discovery of the Year – Joseph Commey and Raphael Nii Ankrah.

Dedication and Valour – Lepowura Mohammed Nuru­deen Jawula; Hockey Player of the Year (Female) – Adizatu Sulemana (GRA Ladies); Lifetime Achievement Award – Awuley Quaye and Nii Dodoo Ankrah (Magic Hands); Para-Athlete of the Year – Patricia Nyame­kye; Professional Golfer of the Year – Kojo Barnii (Damang Golf Club); Table Tennis Most Excit­ing Player – Israel Akili; Tennis Player of the Year – Samuel Osei Agbesi Antwi;

Volleyball Player of the Year – Rashaka Katadat (Ghana Army).

The SWAG TOP 5 Federa­tions will be contested by the Ghana Athletics Association, Ghana Armwrestling Federation, Ghana Boxing Federation, Ghana Boxing Association, Ghana Football Association, Ghana Cycling Federation and the Ghana Tennis Federation and the Swim­mer of the Year award going to Abeiku Gyekye Jackson.

There would be Special and Meritorious Awards Kingsley Owusu Achiaw, Bechem United,

Reks Brobbey (Athletics, Ghana’s Fatest Human), Christine Ashley, Chess; Ashford Tettey Oku, Football Administrator; Danny List, International Amateur Golfer; Rustum Gameli Senorgbe.

The Corporate Awards would go to Max TV, SES HD+, One on One Foundation, Captain One Golf Society and the Tennis Foundation with the President’s Award and SWAG Journalist of the Year award to be announced on the evening.


Show More
Back to top button