22 file to contest parliamentary primaries in N/R

Twenty-two people have filed their nominations to contest the New Patriotic Party (NPP) parliamentary primaries in nine constituencies in the Northern Region.

They comprised two females and 20 male aspirants with three incumbent Members of Parliament (MPs), Mohammed Abdul Somed Gunu MP for Savelugu, Dominic Nitiwul, MP for Bimbilla and Mathew Nyindam MP for Kpandai contesting unopposed .

The Northern Regional Secretary of the NPP, Alhaji Sibdow Alhassan Yakubu disclosed this to the Ghanaian Times in an interview yesterday and indicated that by close of nominations, 22 aspiring Parliamentary candidates filed with the Constituency Elections Committees in all nine constituencies of the Northern Region.

All the aspirants are to be vetted by the vetting committees to be constituted soon, per the timelines of the NPP towards the April 25, 2020 primaries, vetting will be conducted between February 28 and March 8, 2020 and that there is no case of denial of nomination forms in the region.

“No case of denial of nomination forms has been recorded in the Northern Region however, two prospective aspirants failed to submit their nomination forms, I caution all the aspirants in the region to conduct clean campaigns by eschewing personal attacks and derogatory remarks but impress upon our supporters and members to conduct themselves in a decorous manner before, during and after the vetting,” Alhaji Yakubu said.


Show More
Back to top button