2019 VGMA, who reigns?

This time of the year is when most artistes are expecting recognition for their musical works. In view of this, the organisers of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards (VGMA) have duly launched this year’s event to award them.

The launch, which marks 20 years of the inception of the Award, took place at the La Palm Royal Beach Hotel last week and saw the unveiling of all the categories for the awards,.

Interestingly, the various categories will see “la crème dela crème” of the music industry compete amongst themselves for the coveted crown.

As it is done every year, the event which preludes the awards night would be held on April 6, 2019 at the Kumasi City Mall car park in the Ashanti Region, with the main show scheduled for May 18, 2019.

In the topmost award of the night, Artiste of the Year category, Sarkodie, who has won the crown on some occasions, would ‘slug it out’ with, self-acclaimed Dancehall King, Shatta Wale, the new sensation, Kuami Eugene, dancehall prodigy, Stonebwoy, and gospel gem, Joe Mettle.

In the Vodafone Song of the Year category, electrifying songs like KwaniKwani Pt2, Can’t Let You Go, My Level, Wish Me Well, Thunder, Kpookeke, Woara, Come and See My Mother, Akwaaba, Do The Dance, Bobolebobo, and CCTV, will battle it out for the sought-after slot.

The competition would be intense in the New Artiste of the Year category, as Wiase Y3 D3 hit maker, Quamina MP; Uber Driver sensation, Wendy Shay; Ginger crooner; Kelvyn Boy; Godzilla hit makers, La Meme Gang and music duo, Dhope Nation prove their mettle for one of them to emerge the ultimate winner.

It will be an intriguing battle in the Hippop/Hiplife Artiste of the Year contest, as the Refuse 2 Be Broke guys, R2Bees, lock horns with Sarkodie, Kwesi Arthur, Medikal La Meme Gang and Patapaa.

It will not be a straight contest for one of the country’s best music exports in the circles of rap, Sarkodie, as he would be matched “Boot for Boot” by M.anifest, YaaPono, Medikal, Teephlow, and Obibini in the Rapper of the Year category.

It would certainly be keenly contested in the Female vocalist of the Year category, as Efya, who has won it four times in a row, competes with the likes of Adina, eShun, Cina Soul, MzVee, and Diana Hamilton.

Amazing composers, Fuse ODG, King Promise, Trigmatic, Teephlow, Stonebwoy and Akwaboah will contest for the best in the Song Writer of the Year category.

The Gospel Song of the Year Category, will see the likes of Joe Mettle, Isaac Kwabena Aning, Koda, Diana Hamilton, Obaapa Christy, Bethel Revival Choir and Joyce Blessing faceoff for the ultimate.

There would be other exciting categories, like, Collaboration of the Year, Afro Pop Song of the Year, Record of the Year, Producer of the Year and Best Video of the Year, among others.

Till the main event night in May, the question, which would remain unanswered on the minds of music lovers is, who reigns in the 20th edition VGMA?

By Edem Mensah-Tsotorme            

Show More
Back to top button