11 member KBTH board inaugurated

The Health Minister, Dr Kwaku Agyeman-Manu, has inaugurated an 11-member board of the Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital (KBTH) with a call on them to advance  health care delivery.

Chaired by Dr David Nkansa-Dwamena, members are Dr Opoku Ampomah; Jerry Shaib; Dr Radha Hackman; Dr Michael Owusu; Albert Arkoh; Hannah Acquah; Prof Margaret Lartey, Reverend Professor Patrick  Ayeh-Kumi; Charles Ofori and Samuel Odame.

Mr Agyeman-Manu, after administering the oaths of office and secrecy to the board members in Accra yesterday said the outbreak of the coronavirus disease had open up with a lot of professional medical officers in the country and that the government was looking forward for these professionals to meet the demand for health care.

He said the government would continue to invest in Korle-Bu to expand and renovate old facilities that had dilapidated to support effective healthcare delivery.

“We are now working on maternity block, the neurology center have started, children’s unit virtually completed among other facilities and we are looking forward to look at the surgical block as well and we are looking for funding to complete that in one or two years,” he added.

Dr Agyeman-Manu therefore urged the board to help achieve this aim and make the hospital the number one health care facility in the sub-region.

He entreated them to work together to address the challenges confronting the hospital in terms of litigation to bring sanity to the hospital.

He commended the board and urged them to build a solid foundation their predecessors had left to make Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital a centre of excellence that the country expected.

The chairperson, Dr Nkansa-Dwamena on behalf of the board expressed gratitude to the president, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo and the sector Minister for the honour and confidence reposed in them.

He pledged the board’s commitment to achieving financial independence for the teaching hospital.


Show More
Back to top button