NMC appoints Board members of state owned media

The National Media Commission (NMC) has announced the appointment of members of the governing boards of public corporations managing state-owned media.

Consequently it has scheduled the swearing in of the newly appointed board members for January next year.

The appointment is accordance with Article 168 of the 1992 Constitution and section 2 (1) (e) of the NMC Act, 1993 (Act 449), and in consultation with the President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

A statement signed by Executive Secretary of the NMC, Mr George Sarpong and issued in Accra yesterday scheduled the swearing in of the board of the Ghana News Agency (GNA) for January 13, 2020.

That of New Times Corporation (NTC) is fixed for Tuesday, January 14, while that of the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation (GBC) and Graphic Communications Group Limited (GCGL) is slated for January 15 and 16, 2020, respectively.

Of the nine-member board appointed for the NTC, Very Reverend Ama Afo Blay was retained as chairperson with other members including Mr Awuku Lokko, Mr Alex Kwadwo Boateng, Mr Albert Sam and Professor Kofi Quashigah.

Other members to serve the NTC board are Dr Kweku Rockson, Mr Donald Gwira and Mrs Victoria Natsu.

For the GCGL, Professor Kwame Karikari will still chair the Group’s board with the support of Dr Rita Larsen Reindorf, Alhaji Mohammed Yusuf Twumasi, Dr Kwame Nyamekye and Mrs Ruby Ivy Austin.

Mr Daniel Addai, Paul Osei Barima, Dr Valentin Kwasi Mensah and Managing Director, Mr Ato Afful will also serve on the board.

The GNA board will be chaired by Professor Olivia Frimpong Kwapong, assisted by Mr Charles Acheampong, Doris Adabasu Kuwornu, Dr Francis Grant Gbormita, Mr Peter Sangber-Dery, Mr Michael Antwi Agyei and Mr Ransford Tetteh as members.

Professor Emmanuel Addow-Obeng was appointed to chair the GBC board, to be supported by Mrs Efua Ghartey, Ing. Henry Kanor, Dr Sarah Dzane and Alhaji Alhassan Abdulai.

Mr Samuel Debrah, Dr Charles Kwening, Mr Forson Osei Bonsu and Mr Yaw Obeng Owusu were also selected to serve the GBC board.


Show More
Back to top button