Winners show class at Accra Snr Tennis

TennisThe 14th edition of the Accra Senior Open Championship came to an end at the Accra Lawn Tennis Club last Saturday with a breath-taking performances from club members and other Tennis Club hitters across the country to win the various ages group challenges.

In all, 18 individuals including the doubles, won the various categories with awesome performances displaying great skills and power in this year’s championship.

In the men’s final, Evans Owuo defeated Lawrence Lartey 7-6,2-0 (retired) to win the men’s 45-54 years.

Kobby Brew beat Henry Nortey 6-3,6-2 to win the men’s (55-64 age group) while George Mills accounted for Joe Paddemor 6-3,6-2 to win the third place match.

Charles Tagoe defeated Richard Oko Addy 6-4, 6-3 in the Men’s 65-69 years as Nana Dadson placed third in the same age group.

The men’s 70 plus was won by Brigadier General Wadhwani, while Beatson Afram placed second as Anthony Dove settled for the third position.

Tina Tagoe beat Augustina Yamak and Dorcas Sowah in an all-round-robin event to win the ladies singles, while Augustina Tagoe took the second position with a win over Dorcas Sowah.

The doubles saw, Adu Appiah and Clement Ayisi beating favorite Dr Patrick Bankah and Abeiku Bentsi 6-2, 6-2 to win the 35-44 men’s doubles.

Maxwell Adjei and Eric Dowuona teamed up to beat K.N Acheampong and Robert Botchey as well as Kuntu Asante and Michael Sarfo to win the age 45-54 all-round-Robin men’s double matches.

In the other categories, Zenabu Akoto and Abigail Odoi won the ladies doubles while Robert Botchey and Abigail Odoi won the gold medal for the mixed doubles.

Brien Benneh and Y. Sergey won the 55-64 men’s doubles, while Henry Nortey and R.O Addy settled for the second position.

Benjamin Palm managed to beat favorite Daniel Quartey 6-0, 3-6, 6-4 to win the professional side attraction encounter while Felix Hammond beat Emmanuel Plange 6-4, 1-6, 6-4 to win the Under-18 boys category.

Rachael Tagoe won the girls Under-18 challenge with two wins in the all-round-robin matches while Perpetual Morgan and Portia Allotey took the 2nd and 3rd position respectively.

Speaking to the Times Sports after the awards ceremony, event coordinator, Peter Annan, expressed his appreciation to all participants for responding to the event to make it one of the best Senior Open championship since its introduction.

He commended all the winners for their superb performances and urged all to train hard so as to be winners in the next Senior Open championship.

“I will like to thank the headline sponsors, Japan Motors and all allied sponsors who came on board to make the event a success.

“Ambassador Kwesi Quartey, Dr. Holdbrook-Smith, Mr. Nick Akpeku, Mr. Douglas Osei and Mr. Francois Cuffy were all individual sponsors who came on board and there is a need to thank and commended them for their effort,” he added.

However, all winners and runners-up took home bag of rice and carton of cooking oil aside medals won in the various categories.


By Albert Agyeman


Print Friendly

Leave a Comment