Volta NDC inaugurates 17 working committees

The Volta Regional branch of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), on Sunday inaugurated 17 working committees to kick-start its “gap one million votes” campaign ahead of the 2016 general elections.

The committees, including Research, Elections, Conflict Resolution, Communications, Disciplinary, Security and Constitutional and Legal are expected to work together and engage members at the grassroots to increase votes for the party’s presidential candidate.

Alban Kingsford Sumana Bagbin, Majority Leader in Parliament, who swore members of the committees into office, said he was inspired by the target and spirit of oneness in the region and charged the committees to deliver the votes.

He said the party cannot afford to lose next year’s general elections and cautioned against infighting.

Madam Helen Adjoa Ntoso, Volta Regional Minister said there was no room for errors or complacency, saying, “United we stand, divided we fall.”

She enumerated projects being undertaken by the government and was hopeful the completion of the Ho Airport would further open up the region for accelerated growth.

Johnson Asiedu Nketia, General Secretary of the party said the national headquarters had reconciled the party at that level and asked the regions and constituencies to do same to ensure that the party remained united after the parliamentary primaries.

John Kwadwo Gyapong, Volta Regional Chairman of the party said the region would fully move into the 2016 campaign in January.


Print Friendly

Leave a Comment