Transition Team inaugurated

transitionPresident John Dramani Mahama yesterday evening, inaugurated the joint Transition Team that will ensure the smooth transfer of power from his National Democratic Congress (NDC) administration to incoming New Patriotic Party (NPP) regime.

It follows the just ended general election in which the Nana Akufo-Addo was declared winner and President-elect by the Electoral Commission last Friday night.

The composition of the Transition Team is in furtherance to the provisions of the Presidential Transition Act 2012 (Act 845) to ensure a peaceful and effective handover of government without acrimony.

Co-chaired by President Mahama and Nana Akufo-Addo, the President-elect, the team is expected to work in good time before the official handover ceremony on January 7, 2017.

Inaugurating the team, President Mahama congratulated Nana Akufo-Addo for the win, and praised all Ghanaians for peacefully overcoming the “democratic hurdle.”

He said the Presidential Transition Act provides a convenient mechanism for the transfer of authority, and therefore urged the team to collaborate and cooperate undertaking the change over arrangements in the national interest.

He said although in such a transition period the new administration should be preparing to take over while outgoing government must be rapping up to leave, there was a need for maximum collaboration between the two sides.

“We have been here before, and I know we can manage this one successfully,” he said, and recalled the two previous transitions after a change in government.

He deplored reports of violent physical attacks by jubilant NPP supporters on NDC supporters and State property, saying the development could mar the outcome the rather peaceful election.

President Mahama therefore, urged the President-elect and the leader of the NPP to advise their supporters against such acts, adding that the security agencies have been ordered to deal with the perpetrators of such attacks.

He gave the assurance that the government would continue to function until January 7, when the new leader would be inaugurated.

The President- elect, Nana Akufo-Addo, for his part, commended President Mahama for his commitment in entrenching Ghana’s democracy and governance, saying “I have so far received maximum cooperation from President Mahama.”

Nana Akufo-Addo, who was accompanied by the Vice President-elect, Dr Bawumia, thanked the members of the transition team for accepting to serve, and reminded them of a need to do a thorough work.

Accord to him, because the transition process did not suffer any pressure from a run-off like in 2009 election, there would be “sufficient time for a complete and thorough job.”

He called for optimum transparency, trust and cooperation from both sides to ensure a successful transition.

The outgoing government has seven members, while the incoming government has nine members on the team, which also Head of the Civil Service, Head of the Local Government Service, Secretary to the Cabinet and National Security Coordinator, as statutory members, in according with the Transition Act.

Those on the NDC government’s side are Julius Debrah, Chief of Staff; Marietta Brew Appiah Opong, Attorney General & Minister for Justice; Seth E. Terkper, Minister for Finance; Prosper Bani, Minister for the Interior; Dr. Benjamin Kunbuor, Minister for Defence; Hanna S. Tetteh, Minister for Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration and Alhaji Collins Dauda, Minister for Local Government and Rural Development.

Representing the incoming government are Yaw Osafo Maafo, representative of the President-elect; Frema Osei Opare, Head of the Staff of Office of the President-elect;
Gloria Akuffo, Member responsible for Legal Affairs; Ken Ofori-Atta, Member responsible for Finance; Ambrose Dery, Member responsible for the Interior; Dominic Nitiwul, Member responsible for Defence; Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey, Member responsible for Foreign Affairs; Hajia Alima Mahama, Member responsible for Local Government, and Albert Kan Dapaah, Member responsible for National Security;

The Speaker of Parliament, Edward Doe Adjaho, Professor Kwesi Botchway, Chairman of the National Development Planning Commission and Professor Mike Ocquaye, a former MP and member of the NPP Council of Elders, have been consisted into an Advisory Group for the transition team.

The team starts work with immediate effect


By Edmund Mingle

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment