Talensi NDC Holds Confab

The Talensi constituency of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Upper East Region has held its delegates conference with the injection of new blood to enhance the victory chances of the party in general election 2016.

In a keenly contested election, Alhaji Sumaila Panka polled 158 votes to defeat the incumbent chairman, Mr. Hammond Bukari and John Tengkrug who obtained 142 and 12 votes respectively.

For the position of vice chairman, Samuel Aborah obtained 166 votes to defeat Abdulai Tii who got 144 votes.

Mr. David Volmeng secured 202 votes to become the new constituency secretary of the party.  He defeated the Presiding Member of the Assembly and incumbent secretary of the party Mr. James Konzabre who polled 105 votes.

The position of deputy secretary went to Nangena Maribgore who obtained 168 votes to defeat Joseph Ateem, who secured 150 votes.

With regard to the position of propaganda secretary, Michael Naab polled 188 votes to beat Yizukoni Tindan who got 137 while Mr. Anoeni Mabambe obtained 215 to defeat Mr. Perigyhn Baanzor who secured 102 votes, to become the deputy propaganda secretary.

Mr. Roland Sakatic failed in his bid to become the treasurer of the party when he polled 156 votes, as against 157 obtained by Madam Assibi Osman.  The deputy treasurer’s position was won by David Daani who secured 167 votes to beat Joseph Anafo who got 150 votes.

The post of organiser was won by Philip Yin who secured 179 votes to defeat Charles Kolog who obtained 137 votes while Basahnah Yin polled 182 votes to beat Apore Ayinne who got 137 votes.

For the youth organiser’s position, Goerge Ayamboya polled 30 votes to defeat his three other opponents, Aduku Atampugre, Edward Tankwa and Godwin Zoogah who obtained 18, 16 and 10 votes respectively.

Deputy youth organiser, Samuel Sampambil Duug secured 42 votes to defeat Mahamadu Ayariga who obtained 31 votes with the Women’s organiser position going to Monica Teni Anachinaba who polled 37 votes to beat two other contestants, Alice Azangweo and Angelina Lapoetzina who obtained 20 and 15 votes respectively.

Mrs. Alice Suuk Kambey obtained 42 votes to defeat Priscila Anafo who got 32 votes, to become the Deputy Women’s Organiser.

Addressing delegates after the elections, the newly elected chairman, Alhaji Panka commended the delegates for the confidence reposed in him and his colleagues to steer the affairs of the party and pledged to work heard with them to secure a resounding victory for the party in election 2016.

Alhaji Panka urged the delegates to put the election behind them and rally behind the executives to work towards a massive victory for the party in the next general elections.

By Times Reporter


Print Friendly

Leave a Comment