Sunyani to host national champ’ship

This year’s Ghana Athletics Association (GAA) Circuit championships will begin tomorrow at the Sunyani Senior High School Park, expecting to draw athletes across the country to compete for honours.

Sponsored by Interplast Ghana, the event, the biggest athletics meet on the local calendar, will see over 300 athletes compete in the first leg to be held in the Brong Ahafo regional capital.

The second and third legs have been scheduled for June 6 and July 4 at Akatsi in the Volta Region and El Wak Stadium in the Greater Accra region respectively.

The finals would be held at the Tamale Sports stadium on August 8, 2015.

Male athletes will compete in 200m, 400mH, 800m, 3000m, Triple Jump, High Jump, Javelin and Discus while the women participate in 100m, 100mH, 400m, 1500m, 5000m, Long Jump, Discus and Shot Putt.

Officials of the GAA said the event would offer the athletes the platform to meet GAA qualification standards for both the World Championships and the All Africa Games.

Expected to dominate the tracks is the latest athletics sensation, John Osei Kofi whose dominance in 100m and 200m on the local track has never being in doubt.

As the fastest home based sprinter this year, Kofi, will seek to continue his impressive runs to maintain his chances to storm into the national team.

Other national stars expected to storm the Brong Ahafo region include the 2014 Overall Circuit champion, Emmanuel Ofori Asante, African javelin silver medalist, Mary Zuta Narteh, national 400m runner and Shawkia Iddrisu.

The one-day event will be a further boost for local athletes following the successful hosting of the Open Championships in Kumasi and Accra over the past few months.

At the inaugural event last year which was sponsored by Sea & Shore Services (Gh) Company Limited and Interplast, awards were given to the top three athletes in each event, as reflected by the points amassed over the earlier competitions in the season.

This was after athletes at each of the previous competitions in Wa, Sekondi and Koforidua, had been awarded points based on their final positions. Only the top eight point scorers in each event were invited for the Circuit final, with each event going into a straight final.

By Times Sports Reporter

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment