South Tongu Assembly inaugurates Area Councils

Mr. Eworyi

Mr. Eworyi

The South Tongu District Assembly has inaugurated its four area councils and forty unit committees.
They are Larve, Dabala, Sogakofe and Agave Afedume area councils.

Speaking at separate ceremonies, the District Chief Executive for South Tongu, Samuel Mawuko Eworyi, tasked members to focus their activities on revenue mobilisation.

According to him revenue being generated by the assembly is inadequate to undertake the needed developments in the district.

He therefore urged members to identify resources in their various communities that are of commercial value and what can be done to generate the needed revenue to speed up development in their various communities.

Mr. Eworyi made it clear to the members that the work of unit committees are voluntary and sacrificial and should be carried out whole- heartedly.

Togbe  Tsikata Agbodzi, the District Finance Officer said “ it is the responsibility of the  Councils to collect part of the revenue  on behalf of the assembly.

He challenged members of the councils to identify those who engage in income generating activities in their localities and to ensure that the pay revenue to the assembly.

Members of the Area Councils and the Unit Committees were sworn into office by the Presiding Member of the assembly, Togbe Adzawusu at separate functions.

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment