Seven NPP MPs go unopposed in Ashanti

Untitled-1Seven New Patriotic Party (NPP) Members of Parliament (MPs) in the Ashanti Region will be contesting their seats unopposed, as no candidates had picked nomination forms to contest in the parliamentary primaries.

They are Dr. Mathew Opoku Prempeh, incumbent MP for Manhyia South, A.C. Ntim, Offinso North, Nana Marfo Amaniampong, Affigya Kwabre North; Dr. Anthony Osei Akoto, Old Tafo Pankrono; Salisu Bamba, Ejura Sekyeredumase; Johnson Adu, Ahafo Ano South-West and Francis Adabo, Ahafo Ano South-East.

Sam Pyne, Ashanti Regional NPP Secretary, who disclosed this to journalist on Monday, said that a total of 138 aspirants from 44 out of the 47 constituencies in the region submitted forms to contest in the upcoming NPP primaries.

He mentioned Manhyia North, Juaben and Kumawu constituencies, where there have been legal issues for some time now as the only three constituencies, which the party didn’t receive nomination forms from interested candidates.

Sam Pyne disclosed that 11 females out of the 138 aspirants had submitted their nomination forms, including three sitting MPs.

He said Madam Patricia Appiagyei, MP for Asokwa; Elizabeth Agyeman, MP for Oforikrom and Grace Addo, MP for Manso Nkwanta, were the three sitting female MPs seeking re-election.

Sam Pyne announced that the party in the region would commence vetting of all the aspirants on Monday, which was expected to be completed on Thursday, May 7, 2015.

He said the vetting would be done at four different locations in Kumasi, the regional capital. - myjoyonline

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment