Presidency denies new ministerial reshuffle

Mr Julius Debrah The presidency has refuted a purported list of a ministerial reshuffle carried out by President John Dramani Mahama yesterday.

Many Ghanaians woke up from their sleep to hear that the President have either sacked or changed some of his key ministers, including his trusted Minister of Finance, Seth Terkper.

The purported statement, allegedly signed by the Chief of Staff, Julius Debrah, said Mr. Terkper has been axed from his post and replaced with Dr. George Sipa Yankey, Chief Executive Officer of the Ghana Gas Company.

Dr. Ekwow Spio Garbrah was also said to have been appointed as the new Minister of Foreign Affairs, Ms. Hannah Tetteh moved to the Ministry of Gender and Social Protection, veteran politician, Lee Ocran becomes the Minister of Labour and Employment, Kwesi Ahwoi as Minister of Defense and John Jinapor as Minister of Power.

The fake statement added that the “President however thanked Haruna Iddrisu (MP), Benjamin Kunbour (MP) and Seth Tekper for their wonderful contribution to the government and wished them well”.

But moments after the story went viral on numerous social media platforms, the Flagstaff House, Kanda-Accra, issued a strongly worded statement on its facebook post, urging people to ignore it.

The statement from the Flagstaff House Communications Bureau stated that: “Kindly ignore a list of new ‘appointments’ making the rounds via WhatsApp platforms.

The Office of the President has issued no such statement. All official statements are first issued via the official email address and posted on the Flagstaff House Facebook Page.

The Minister of Communications, Dr Omane Boamah has also described the news as “false” via an SMS message.

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment