Power Minister in, Housing Minister out

Alhaji Collins Dauda (8)The Minister of Water Resources Works and Housing, Alhaji Collins Dauda, has been dropped from the list of Cabinet Ministers in government.

In his place, President John Mahama has appointed Dr. Kwabena Donkor, the Minister of the newly-created Power Ministry to be part of Cabinet.

With this development, Dr. Kwabena Donkor will now attend cabinet meetings in place of Alhaji Collins Dauda.

The Speaker, Edward Adjaho, announced this in Parliament yesterday, to put to rest, the controversy surrounding the number of Cabinet Ministers in government.

The new list of Cabinet Ministers is as follows; Seth Terkper, Finance, Hannah Serwaa Tetteh, Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration, Dr. Benjamin Kunbuor, Defence, Ekow Spio-Garbrah, Trade and Industry, Prof Naana Jane Opoku-Agyemang, Education and Alhaji Inusah A.B. Fuseini, Roads and Highways.

Others are Fifi Fiavi Franklin Kwetey, Food and Agricultre, Dzifa Attivor, Transport, Dr. Kweku Agyeman Mensah, Health, Emmanuel Armah-Kofi Buah, Petroleum, Marietta Brew Appiah-Opong, Attorney General and Minister of Justice, and Julius Debrah, Local Government and Rural Development.

The rest are Nii Osa Mills, Lands and Natural Resources, Mark Woyongo, Interior, Akwasi Oppong Fosu, Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation, Nana Oye Lithur, Gender, Children and Social Protection, Haruna Iddrisu, Employment and Labour Relations, Dr. Omane Boamah, Communications, with Dr. Kwabena Donkor, the new Power Minister replacing Alhaji Collins Dauda, the Water Resources, Works and Housing Minister.

The issue came up in the House about a fortnight ago when some members from the Minority, making reference to the Parliamentary Debates, an official document of Parliament, raised concerns over the number of Cabinet Ministers in government.

According to them, the number of Cabinet Ministers quoted by the Parliamentary Debates was 20 and therefore breached Article 76 of the Constitution, which spells out the number of Ministers that should be appointed to form a Cabinet.

The article stipulates that Cabinet Ministers in government must not be less than 10, and more than 19 people.

Mr. Adjaho explain-ed that, the 20 Cabinet Ministers reported by the Parliamentary Debates was an error by the Editor of Debates in the House, because the list of ministers did not include the Ministers of Power and Petroleum.

In another development, the Customs Bill 2014 was taken through the Consideration Stage.

By Yaw Kyei

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment