Parliament approves six ministers-designate

The Fourth Report of the Appointments Committee of Parliament on six ministers-designate has been adopted and approved with consensus by Parliament.

The six ministers-designate approved included Mrs. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, Communications Minister-designate; Mr. Joseph Kofi Adda, Sanitation and Water Resources Minister-designate, and Mr. Kwesi Amoako-Atta, Roads and Highways Minister-designate

The rest are Mr. Kwaku Ofori Asiamah, Transport; Professor Kwabena Frimpong Boateng, Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation and Mr. Joe Ghartey, Railways Development.

The report on the nominees, tabled by the Appointments Committee of the House yesterday, was for the period between Wednesday February 1 and Thursday February 2, 2017.

This gives the ministerial nominees the greenlight to be inducted into office as ministers of state by President Nana Akufo-Addo.

According to the committee, Chaired by the Bekwai MP, Joseph Osei Owusu, the 1992 Constitution, the Standing Orders of Parliament, were used as reference documents and also obtained confidential reports on the nominees from the Ghana Police Service and the Bureau of National Investigations.

Moving the motion for the adoption of the report, Ms. Sarah Adwoa Safo, the Deputy Chair of the committee, urged the House to approve the nominees because they have distinguished themselves by exhibiting knowledge of their expected sector ministries and deserved to be passed.

Seconding the motion, the Minority Leader, Mr. Haruna Iddrisu, who is also the Ranking Member on the committee, said they had no issues with the nominees.

He said the minority was expectant of the plethora of promises made by the NPP in the run-up to the 2016 polls in order to bring relief to the citizenry.

With no controversies surrounding the eligibility or otherwise of the ministers-designate, the house in unison unanimously approved of the apointments of the ministers-designate.

Rounding up the debate on the report, the Chairman of the Appointments Committee, Mr. Joseph Osei-Owusu thanked the House for expressing confidence in the nominees.

Of the six nominees, four of them – Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, Joseph Kofi Adda, Kwasi Amoako-Atta and Joe Ghartey – are members of Parliament.

By Julius Yao Petetsi 

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment