Parliament approves President’s nominees

Mr Joseph-Osei-Owusu

Mr Joseph-Osei-Owusu

The eighth report of Parliament Appointments Committee, which recommended the approval of four Ministers of State-designate and seven Deputy Ministers-designate vetted last week, has been adopted by the House.

The four ministers of state-designate whose nominations have been approved are Sarah Adwoa Safo, Public Procurement; Bryan Acheampong, Office of the President; Professor Kwesi Yankah, Minister of State-designate at the Ministry of Education and Dr Nurah Gyeile, Minister of State-designate at the Ministry of Agriculture.

The Deputy Ministers-designate are Henry Quartey, The Interior; Kwaku Kwarteng, Abena Osei Asare, and Charles Adu Boahen, Finance; Joseph Cudjoe, Dr Mohammed Amin Anta and William Owuraku Aidoo, Deputy Energy Ministers-designate.

Presenting the Committee’s report to the plenary of Parliament on Friday, Chairman of the Appointment’s Committee, Mr Joseph Osei-Owusu, said the nominees were without ‘blemish’ or any criminal records.

According to Mr Osei-Owusu, records from the Criminal Investigations Department of the Ghana Police Service and the Bureau of National Investigations gave the nominees clean bills to assist the President in the governance of the country in their respective ministries.

He said the 11 nominees exhibited knowledge of their areas of nominations culminating in a consensus on their candidature by the committee and deserved to be approved for the job.

Seconding the motion for the approval of the vetted minister-designates, the Minority Leader and Ranking Member on the Committee, Haruna Iddrisu, corroborated Mr Osei-Owusu’s assertion.

Mr. Iddrisu urged Ms Adjoa Safo, to ensure public procurement was done in a transparent manner in consonance with government’s decision to create that ministry to stem the tide of corruption associated with procurement.

On Bryan Acheampong, Mr Iddrisu, Tamale South MP, said the Minister of State-designate without portfolio demonstrated enormous knowledge of IT and could be used in the delivery of a “paperless society” in the public sector.

The 11 are expected to be sworn into office later today by President Akufo-Addo as he works to assemble his team for smooth and effective governance.

By Julius Yao Petetsi    

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment