Parliament approves last batch of ministerial nominees

Parliament has adopted and approved unanimously the fifth report of the Appointments Committee on 11 ministers-designate.

They are Catherine Afeku, Tourism, Arts and Culture, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, Parliamentary Affairs, Professor Gyan Baffour, Planning and Isaac Asiamah, Youth and Sports.

Others are Awal Ibrahim Mohammed, Business Development, Mavis Hawa Koomson, Special Development Initiatives, Boniface Abu-Bakar Siddique, Zongo and Inner City Development and Cecilia Abena Dapaah, Aviation.

The rest include Kofi Dzamesi, Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs, Elizabeth Naa Afoley Quaye, Fisheries and Aquaculture and Mustapha Abdul Hamid, Information.

Laying the report in Parliament yesterday, the Chairman of the Appointments Committee, Mr. Joe Osei-Owusu said the committee was satisfied with the depth of knowledge of the nominees regarding their ministries.

The committee, the Chairman said used the 1992 Constitution and the Standing Orders of Parliament as reference documents and also obtained confidential reports on the nominees from the Ghana Police Service and the Bureau of National Investigations.

He said there was a disagreement between the majority and minority members with the nomination of Catherine Afeku for her inability to honour her national service obligations but said the nominee had secured a waiver from the National Service Scheme clearing her.

Mr. Osei-Owusu said they have met the criteria and duly qualify as such to be sworn into office as ministers in the Akufo-Addo led government.

Ranking Member of the committee, Mr. Haruna Iddrisu, seconding the motion for the adoption, said the minority caucus was satisfied with the nominees.

Mr. Iddrisu said the nominees have demonstrated knowledge of their respective ministries and was hopeful they would be worthy lieutenants of the President in those ministries.

He urged the ministers-designate to bring their experience to bear and not disappoint the President for the trust entrusted in them because the work ahead of them was enormous.

Singling out the Parliamentary Affairs Minister-designate, Mr. Iddrisu said the veteran MP remained an inspiration to many young people, and expressed confidence in him and pleaded with the executive arm of government to take Mr. Mensah-Bonsu away from Parliament.

Wa West MP, Mr. Joseph Yieleh Chireh in his remarks urged the ministers-designate to properly seek their territories to avoid duty clashes and “turf war”.

Mr. Henry Quartey, Ayawaso Central MP, on his part challenged the ministers-designate to work hard to make reality the promises of the NPP in the 2016 electioneering campaign.

Other members to comment on the motion are Ho West MP, Mr. Emmanuel Kwasi Bedzrah, Mr. Collins Amankwah, Manhyia South, and Ellembele MP, Mr. Kofi Armah Buah.

By Julius Yao Petetsi

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment