Parliament Adhoc C’ttee starts Feb 15

MR. JOE GHARTEY  MINISTER  OF  RAILWAYS  DEVELOPMENTThe Ad hoc Committee constituted by the Speaker of Parliament, Professor Mike Oquaye, to unravel the truth or otherwise of a bribery scandal that has hit the Appointments Committee of the House will have its first sitting on Wednesday.

Chaired by Esikado/Ketan Member of Parliament (MP), Joe Ghartey, the committee was reconstituted last Friday following the unavailability of a member of that group, Ms. Ama Pomaa Boateng, Juaben MP, who is on an ECOWAS Parliamentary group assignment.

Due to return in two weeks time, Ms. Pomaa, was replaced with Abena Durowaa Mensah, Assin North MP.

The decision to replace Ms. Pomaa, was in view of the timeline given to the Committee to present its report to the House. It is expected to finish its work by close of this month.

It is, however, unclear who will appear before the Committee on Wednesday.

As part of its mandate, the Committee will meet with members of the Appointments Committee and interrogate them on what they know about the allegations.

The Bawku Central MP, Mr. Mahama Ayariga, stirred controversy a fortnight ago when he alleged that then Energy Minister-designate, Mr. Boakye Agyarko, attempted bribing members of the Minority caucus on the Committee through the Chairman, after recommendations on his nomination had hit a snag.

According to Mr. Ayariga, each member of the Minority divide, through the Chairman of the Committee, Joseph Osei Owusu, were given GH¢3,000 each, a claim the Chairman has denied.

The terms of reference of the Committee include establishing whether or not there was an attempt to financially induce minority members on the 26-member Appointments Committee to approve the nomination of Mr. Boakye Agyarko.

Other members of the five member committee include Mr. Ben Abdallah, Offinso South MP, Magnus Kofi Amoatey, Yilo Krobo MP and Benson Tongo Baba, Talensi MP.

By Julius Yao Petetsi

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment