Osu Admits 5 Members To Traditional Council

The five members of the council being inducted into officeThe Osu Traditional Council has inducted five members into the council at a ceremony held at the Osu Mantse palace on Thursday.

They are Kyidomhene of Osu Alata Nii Adam Sorge II, Nii Kwabena Bonne V, Osu Alata Mantse, Haatso Mantse, Nii Armah Sogblah IV and Nii Saban Atsem VII, Osu Jaasetse.

Speaking to the new council members, the Chief of Osu, Nii Okwei Kinka Dowuona VI, asked them to work hard and remain selfless in the discharge of their duties for the success of the entire community.

With the induction, the Osu Mantse said the community could now settle its own disputes and govern its own affairs without external influence.

He said chiefs from other communities under Osu would be sworn in as council members in due course.

According to Nii Kinka Dowuona, all communications and other issues concerning the community should be channeled through the council for a decision to be taken.

Administering the oath, Justice Mrs. Rebecca Naa Shormeh Sittie, a High Court Judge, urged the new council members to work hard and to apply the internet in their work.

She said the internet would help them acquire the needed knowledge to manage the affairs of Osu because of the advancement in technology.

The Regional Registrar of the Greater Accra Regional House of Chiefs, Mr. Harry A. Attipoe, said the induction of the council members marked a new era in the council.

He said the period where anonymous letters were written to the regional council, the Ministry of Chieftaincy and Traditional Affairs and to the Presidency should seize.  By Jemima Esinam Kuatsinu

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment