NPP regional elections send shock waves

Freddie   Blay

Freddie Blay

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) election in the Western Region brought shock waves to party faithful and supporters who have sat on tenterhooks for the past one month.

Reports from the regions indicate that the polls held yesterday at the University of Mines and Technology (UMaT) Tarkwa, auditorium, witnessed shocks and surprises as five incumbent officers unexpectedly maintained their grips on their positions.

Five new entrants were also elected. The poll was conducted by the Electoral Commissions (EC) led by the Regional Director, Stephen Opoku-Mensah. Our Western Region correspondent Clement Adzei Boye reports.

Francis Ndede Siah, a former Acting Regional Chairman sprang a surprise by bagging 233 votes to beat by Frank Etti, who got 73 votes. Benjamin  Armah, former District Chief Executive for Bia West  had 160 votes while Nana Owusu Ankomah, a former Regional Chairman received  31 votes.

The Regional Secretary, Charles Cromwell Nanabanyin Onuawonto Bissue who maintained his position polled 248 votes to beat his main challenger Okatakyie Amankwaa Afrifa, who got 188 votes, while Emmanuel Acquaah received 61 votes.

Abdul Ganiyu Mohammed swept  230 votes to win  the Regional Organiser position as against Baba Yiddana who had seven votes, Kojo Acquah, 18 votes, Kwame Kintoh, 47 votes and Amoabeng Acheampong, 196 votes.

Samuel Kofi Abiaw polled 227 votes to win the Assistant Secretary race when he beat Samuel Adu Adjei who had 187 votes while Ken Woode also received 84 votes.

Another incumbent, Golly Antwi Bosiako, maintained her position as the Women Organiser with 335 votes by   beating Juliana Aidoo who got 99 votes while Agnes Naana Amoah got 64 votes.

New entrant, Anna Horma Akaisi Mienzah polled 214 votes to hold the treasurer position while her challenger, Nana Adjoa Appiah got 195 votes. Simon Peter Akufur had 10 votes and Esther Nyantakyi 73 votes.

For the first Vice Chairman position, Ishmael Whajah polled 193 votes, Samuel Alberto Takyi,  88 votes ; Nana Kwasi  Ansah, 185 votes; James Obeng Jnr, 135 votes; Abdul Mumin Issah, 42 votes  and Mohammed Ben Ali, 46 votes.

For the Second Vice Chairman slot, Kojo Yiadom Boakye had  45  votes; Gabriel S.Gyasi, 42 votes, Abena Kwallah, 115 votes, Samuel  Brown Otoo, 64 votes and Charles Nana Darko Cobbinah also  polled 39 votes.

Benedict Addae swept the youth organiser  position with 142 votes  while Benjamin Paa Kwesi Moses had 139 votes, Ishmael Bravo 138 votes and Osagyefo Kwaw  Ettia also polled 78 votes.

On the Nassara Coordinator position, new entrant Al-Labib Shaman Ciessey polled 162 votes to beat his challenger Alhaji Adam Harun Ahmed, who polled 141 votes while Alhaji Ridwan Ishaq got  34 votes, Onasis Aminu Abubakar  nine votes, Alhassan Abdul Raman, 96 votes and Sidi Ibrahim-Ahmed, 54 votes.

The 2061 Campaign Coordinator of NPP, Peter Mc Manu, urged NPP members to guard against what he described as ‘fake news’ from their political opponents and project the party in government.

He said, if party faithful allowed the ‘fake news’ to persist it would discredit the NPP administration.

Relatedly, election was held in the Volta Region despite rumours that there was a court injunction. Kafui Gati reports from Hohoe.

Makafui Kofi Woanya was elected as the chairman when he polled 216 votes to beat his closest contender, Johnson Avuletey who had 129 votes.

Kofi Adjei Ntim was elected as First Vice Chairman with 286 votes as Stephen Beyaseh who had 209 votes.

Others are Abdallah Mohammed Sadiq, Second Vice Chairman, Albert Bediako, Secretary and for the Assistant Secretary position, Joshua Makabu polled 265 votes.

The rest are: Emmanuel Bodja, organiser, Divine Bosson, treasurer, Joseph Denteh, John Cudjo Dunyo, youth organiser, women’s organiser, Afi Agyagbo Ashade , The rest are King David Ninkab Nkabonam, Nasra Coordinator.

FROM Bolgatanga, SAMUEL AKAPULE, reports that three hundred delegates were drawn from ten regional executives.

The delegates included the regional and constituency executives, NPP Members of Parliament, regional elders of the party, the founding members and Tertiary Education Students Confederation (TESCOM) – a wing of the party.

Anthony Anamoo, a lawyer polled 124 votes to beat his close contender, the incumbent acting Regional Chairman of the party, Mr  Muhammed Mutuala who got 51 votes.

The position of the Regional First Vice Chairman went to Mr Moses Kwabena Atinga who polled 124 votes to beat his close contender, Mr Issack Adawale Atasige who got 58 votes.

Mr Bugre Abubakar Ibrahim emerged as the Regional Second Vice Chairman of the party with 132 votes to beat Ms Diana Aburiya  who secured 74 votes.

The Regional Treasurer position was won by Mr Joseph Awinpanga Akanfaba with 135 votes while the closer person, Mr Daniel Nsobila Ayine managed to  secure 110 votes.

Mr Ayambire Cletus Nyaba got 89 votes to secure the Regional Secretary   position whilst his close opponent Mr Assam Passin Samuel had 77 votes.

That of the position of the Regional Youth Organiser went to Mr Solomon Latif Yanah who secured 146 votes to beat his closer opponent, Mr Atiru Samuel Amangdemdam who got 106 votes.

Whilst Ms Geogina Ayamba polled 162 votes to emerge as the Women Organiser, Alhaji Mohammed Siitah Abubabakari  got 119 votes to become the Regional Naasara Coordinator .

Mr. Elvis Figo Awonnekai annexed the regional assistant secretary position with 218 votes while Mr Asamani Jerry got 107 votes to become the regional organiser of the party.

The Regional Chairman–elect who thanked the delegates for reposing confidence in him pledged to work hard to bring everybody on board to secure more votes for the party in the upcoming 2020 general election.




Print Friendly

Leave a Comment