NPP Elects Members To NC

THE opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP) on Saturday held elections in the regions to select members of the party’s National Council.

Some of the regions elected their representatives to the council by acclamation, while others had full elections, with some of the incumbent members opting out of the council.

In the Ashanti Region, Dr. Kwame Amoako-Tuffuor, a leading member of the party, maintained his membership on the council, while former Chief of Staff under the Kufuor administration, Kwadwo Mpiani lost his position on the council due to his failure to contest.

Dr. Amoako-Tuffuor was main-tained after he was re-elected by acclamation though it was recently alleged that some persons in the party wanted him out of the council due to his open support for Nana Akufo-Addo, one of the aspirants contesting the party’s flag-bearership slot.

Those elected from the Ashanti region were five regional executives consisting the Ashanti Regional Chairman, Bernard Antwi-Boasiako, Samuel Payne, Dr. Alhaji Raul Abdul, Beatrice Serwaa Daakyi, Zenab Saliu.

The non-executive members who were also elected include Dr. Kwame Amoako-Tuffuor, Kwame Osei Prempeh, Mrs Janet Anane, and Robert Yaw Amankwah.

From the Northern Region, the Regional Executive Committee endorsed an earlier list submitted to the national secretariat for approval as representation on the National Council.

The list comprised four regional executive members namely the regional chairman, Daniel Bugri Naabu, first vice chairperson, Hajia Samata, second vice chairperson, Alhaji Sunday and the regional secretary, Sule Salifu.

The other three non- executive members are a former District Chief Executive for Bole, Salamatu Forgor, Alhaji Aminu Amadu, a founding father of the NPP in the Northern Region and Winston Binabiba.

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment