New President of ABCECG promises new era for industry

Mr. Ledi

Mr. Ledi

The newly elected President of the Association of Building and Civil Engineering Contractors of Ghana (ABCECG) Mr Prosper Ledi has pledged to position contractors as worthy partners in the development of the country.

He noted that the infrastructure needs of the country could not be well accomplished without an effective Ghanaian construction industry.

Mr Ledi who is founder and Chief Executive of Proko Construction Ltd was elected unopposed at the Association’s 10th annual general meeting and conference held in Winneba.

Speaking in an interview, on the sidelines of the conference, Mr Ledi noted that the construction industry was central to the economy and that the economy slows down any time they were not paid and vice versa.

According to him the construction industry was faced with myriads of challenges but said the way out was to have contractors who could effectively engage with government and other stakeholders as partners in solving the challenges.

“As leader of the Association I will galvanise our members into a formidable group and engage government continuously. This is our country, we are the builders, and once we do our homework well, we can get every government to do what we believe is appropriate”, he stressed.

Mr Ledi who has over three decades of experience in the industry said delayed payment for work done without interest, improper regulation of the industry, the unlevelled playing field with their foreign counterparts as well as the general mistrust and badmouthing of indigenous contractors are major challenges that he intends to confront.


The new ABCECG President indicated that he and his executives would use their term in office to drive up membership and to build a united front for contractors.

ABCECG is made up of both indigenous construction firms as well as foreign firms registered and working in Ghana.

Mr Ledi said while these are problems, they also constitute opportunities for contractors.

The conference also elected Tony Asante-Gyinae as 1st Vice President, Harry Anim-Danso as 2nd Vice President, Martin Ganyo Nukpezah as National Treasurer and Dela-dem Ocloo as Assistant Treasurer.

The rest are Yusif Mohammed Ali, Northern Sector Organiser, Sampson Ayiku, Southern Sector Organiser, Agnes Ofori, Trustee, George Peter Grant and Charles Siessegh, also a Trustee.

By Times Reporter

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment