NDC regional elections: 90 file to contest Western, B/A

 Mr Asiedu Nketia, Gen Sec, NDC

Mr Asiedu Nketia, Gen Sec, NDC

Ninety potential candidates have picked nomination forms for the various western and Brong-Ahafo regional executive positions of the National Democratic Congress (NDC).

They are seeking to offer their services to the democratic dispensation within the party and the nation as a whole.

Nominations closed on July 24 and the aspirants had successfully submitted their forms to contest for the different positions of the party in the two regions.

The vetting which sought to ascertain the eligibility of each candidate is slated for August 2 to 5, 2018.

For  the Western region the positions include: Chairman, Vice Chairman, Secretary and Vice, Organizer and Deputy, Communication Officer and Deputy, Treasurer and Deputy, Women’s Organizer, Zongo Coordinator, Youth Organizer and Deputy throughout the 23 districts of the region.

Joseph Nelson, the Incumbent Regional Secretary, said once the process of picking forms had ended, the Regional Elections Committee would have all the 45 candidates vetted from August 1 to 5 before the regional elections on 25 August 25, 2018.

He urged all candidates to engage in civilised politics devoid of character assassinations and concentrate on their policies and plans to enable the party to forge ahead into victory in the 2020 elections.

Nana Kojo Toku and Micheal Aidoo are the contestants for the chairmanship slot with Kobina Dankwa, Musa Adamu , Michael Gbedema and Captain Cudjoe vying for the vice slot.

Joseph Nelson and Famous Tumi-Acquah are competing for the Secretary position while Charles Adu-Fordjour and George Aidoo compete for the vice of the same position.

Japheth Baidoo and Yonous Mohammed are contesting the organiser slot with Thomas Asinae, Pius Nkuah and Clamperstone Sagoe contesting for Deputy Organiser.

For Communication Officer position, Richard Mensah is vying while Ebenezer Essien, Kankam Yeboah are for the deputy, with Henry Rockefeller and Kwesi Dick going for the Treasurer while Daniel Atitso and Daniel Asmah for the deputy slot.

Hafizu Alasco and Ali Ustaz Ali are in the race for the Zongo Coordinator position while

For the Women’s Organizer slot, Gladys Egyin, Josephine Amo, Anita Annan and Beatrice Sam are contesting the women’s organiser position.

Eric Kyeremah, Robert Agyekum, George Dadzie Jr. and Justice Ahiaveh are in for Youth Organizer position with Louis Darfah, Jeremiah Ackah, Prince Nkrumah, Horatus Cobbinah, Mustapha Iddrisu, Abizi Morkeh and Paul Eshun for the deputy slot.

In an interview with Kwame Aning Frimpong, Chairman of the Brong-Ahafo Election Committee, disclosed that Kwadwo Nyamekye-Marfo, a former Brong-Ahafo Regional Minister is unopposed as the Regional Chairman.

The Vice Chairmanship position is a contested among three personalities, Kwadwo Takyi-Arhin, the incumbent Regional Youth Organiser and Ibrahim Gariba and Nasiru Yusuf, leading members of the party in the region.

Dennis Twumasi, the incumbent Regional Secretary is retaining his position unopposed, but Mohammed Seidu, the current Regional Organiser is being challenged by two others, Akwasi Lampo and Prince Mensah while the Zongo Caucus Coordinator, Alhaji Baba Gausu, a former Regional Organiser is unopposed. -GNA

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment