NDC regional elections: 134 file nominations in G/Accra, Ashanti

 Asiedu Nketia, Gen Sec, NDC

Asiedu Nketia, Gen Sec, NDC

A total of 134 persons aspiring for various positions in the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Greater Accra and Ashanti regions have successfully filed their nominations.

They picked forms when nominations were opened between July 16 and 18, 2018.

At the close of nominations in Greater Accra, 76 aspirants filed their nominations to contest the regional executive committee elections while a total of 70 aspirants picked forms in Ashanti region but 12 out of the number failed to submit them on Tuesday, July 24, deadline for submission of forms.

The breakdown include for Greater Accra are: Chairman, four; Vice Chairman, eight; Secretary, four and Deputy Secretary, six.

The rest are: Organiser, four; Deputy Organiser, eight; Treasurer, four; Deputy Treasurer, five; Communications Officer, four and Deputy Communications Officer, 10.

The others are: Women’s Organiser, two; Deputy Women’s Organiser, five; Youth Organiser, three; Deputy Youth Organiser, seven and Zongo Caucus Coordinator, two.

Those vying for the Chairmanship slot are the incumbent Ade Coker, Alhaji Yahaya Kundow, the incumbent Treasurer, Emmanuel Ashie-Moore, a former Member of Parliament for Adenta and Daniel Mensah, a former Municipal Chief Executive for Ledzokuku Krowor.

For the Organiser, those in the race include Maxwell Amevor, Humphrey Mensah, Derrick Myers and Anthony Nukpenu.

The Women’s Organiser aspirants are Madam Felicia Mekpor-Bortey and Madam Lucy Rio.

Those vying for the Zongo Caucus Coordinator are Mohammed Ashkar and Ismaila Horoya.

Ephraim Nii Sackey, Secretary, NDC Greater Accra Regional Elections Committee, disclosed this on Wednesday in an interview in Accra and indicated that vetting of the respective candidates would commence from August 1 to 5.

He commended the aspirants for the maturity they had shown and urged them to embark on decorous and clean campaigns devoid of insults saying the exercise was a family contest.

Four people are vying for the chairmanship position which promises to be a close contest as all four are known party stalwarts in the Ashanti Region.

They are Joseph Yamin, a former Deputy Regional Minister, Kwadwo Gyamfi, Augustus Andrews Nana Akwasi and T. K. Braimah.

According to Raymond Tandoh, the Regional Secretary of the party noted that a keen contest is also expected in the race for the secretary position between Evans Amankwa, a legal practitioner, Ofori Agyemang Boadi, a former Municipal Chief Executive for Obuasi and Kwame Zu, a member of the party in the region. –GNA

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment