KAAF Inaugurates Governing Council

AblakwaMr Samuel Okudjeto Ablakwa, Deputy Minister of Education in-charge of Tertiary Education on Saturday inaugurated a 17 – member Governing Council for  KAAF University College.

The Council, chaired by Professor Kwamena Ahwoi would supervise the administration of the University to ensure that it achieves the mandate for which it was established.

Speaking at the inaugural ceremony, Mr Ablakwa commended the University for the progress made in focusing on its core areas, with regards to courses offered.

He said most tertiary institutions are deviating from the National Council of Tertiary Education’s norm, where universities are expected to work towards a sixty/forty in terms of the ratio of science and humanities.

“Unfortunately as a country, that target has eluded us,” the Deputy Minister added.

Mr Ablakwa explained that instead of 60 per cent of students being in the sciences and 40 percent in humanities, a survey had revealed that only thirty-six per cent are pursuing science courses.

He noted the ministry has observed that the challenge begins at the basic level, where students who fail in mathematics and science are unable to progress to the next academic, as such; there is the need to tackle the problem from the roots.

The Deputy Minister congratulated Mr Michael Aidoo, Founder of the University for the initiative in offering students the opportunity to study engineering.

Prof Ahwoi, on behalf of members of the council assured management of putting together collective ideas in making KAAF University College a 1st class private tertiary institution in Ghana.

Prof Ahwoi, who was a member of the previous council said, his team had a solid foundation to build, however issues relating to financing will be addressed, adding “there are also plans of relocating the institution to a new site”.

Speaking on projects; he said the institution, aside offering engineering courses would expand its programme areas to allow students pursue courses in business administration, law as well as nursing.

The council includes Prof Kwame Boasiako Omane-Antwi, Mr Aidoo, Mr Lee Frimpong, Mr S.P Adamu, Prof Yaw Adubofuor Tuffour, Mr Raphael Kwasi Tuffour and Mr Kwaku Dua Osei-Bonsu.

The rest are Mr Eric Adjei Boadu Aidoo, Dr Henrietta Rowena Asare, Mr Alfred Obeng Boateng, Mr Johnson Ben Oduro, Mr Francis Kofi Andoh, Mr Stephen Nana Ackon Mensah, Nana Abore Yamoah, Chief of Gomoa Fetteh and Dr Dennis Mike Obeng Rector.

As part of the ceremony, a minute silent was observed for the late Paul Victor Obeng, a member of the previous council, who played a major role in the administration of the university.





Print Friendly

Leave a Comment