Interior Ministry imposes curfew on four towns

Mr. Ambrose Dery, Minister of Interior

Mr. Ambrose Dery, Minister of Interior

The Ministry of Interior has renewed the curfews imposed on Kpatinga and Bimbilla in the Northern Region and Alavanya and Nkonya in the Volta Region.
A press statement issued and signed by the sector Minister, Ambrose Dery and copied to The Ghanaian Times said the imposition of the curfew on the four towns was based on the advice of the Northern and Volta Regional Security Councils and by Executive Instrument.
The curfew hours for Kpatinga, Bimbilla and Nkonya and Alavanyo start from 12: midnight to 4:00am, 10pm to 4am and 11pm to 5am respectively, effective Friday, January 20, 2017.
It urged the people in the four towns to exercise restraint in the face of challenges confronting them and use non-violent means to channel their energies into ensuring peace.
The statement said government continued to express its appreciation to the chiefs, elders, opinion leaders and youth for their efforts to promote peace in their respective towns.
Meanwhile, the statement said there was a total ban on all persons in the four towns and their surrounding areas from carrying arms, ammunitions or any offensive weapon and any person found with any arms or ammunition would be arrested and prosecuted.

By Times Reporter

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment