Govt to reactivate Boankra Inland Port project

Mr Kwaku Ofori Asiamah(arrowed) inaugurating the board at the ceremony.Photo.Ebo Gorman (1)

Mr Kwaku Ofori Asiamah(arrowed) inaugurating the board at the ceremony.Photo.Ebo Gorman (1)

Government is to reactivate the Boankra Inland Port project in the Ejisu-Juaben Municipality of the Ashanti Region, after more than 16 years of neglect.

A consultant has been engaged to collaborate with the Ghana Shippers’ Authority and other bodies to assess the current state of the project as part of efforts to fully execute the project to serve its intended purpose.

The Ministry for Transport, Mr Kwaku Ofori Asiamah made this known in Accra yesterday when he inaugurated a 14-member Board of directors for the Ghana Shippers’ Authority (GSA).

Former President Jerry John Rawlings cut the sod for the project at Fumesua in 1996 but due to litigation over the land, it was moved to its current location at Boankra where work formally began in 2001.

Sited on 400-acres land, it is expected to link the ports of Tema and Takoradi to the northern and neighbouring landlocked countries such as Burkina Faso, Niger and Mali, with the aim of decongesting at the Tema Ports and enhancing freight.

However, Mr Asiamah said upon a visit to the project site recently,  he was alarmed at the deteriorating rate of the administrative block which was completed during President John Kuffour’s era.

He said the project was high on government’s agenda, and therefore charged the new board and management to immediately institute measures to ensure the revival of the project.

He said the Ministry would provide the needed support and guidelines to enable the board to deliver on its task, but cautioned members against “the unfortunate practice” where board members take over the role of management.

Executive Chairman of State Enterprises Commission, Mr Stephen Asamoah Boateng , tasked the board to make  maximum use of all port facilities to rake in more revenue for the country.

The Chairperson of the Board, Mrs Stella Wilson Agyapong, pledged their commitment to work to advance the cause of the authority especially the Boankra  port, and thanked government for the opportunity to serve.

Members of the Board include Mr Clement Osei Amoako, Mrs Linda Dennis Boateng, Rev. Dr George Dawson-Ahmoah, Dr Kwame Asamoah Adam, Mr Princes Douglas Asamany and Mrs Evelyn Addei Sarpong.

The rest are Mr Abraham Binapadam Jawol, Dr Kwame Mensah-Aborampah, Madam Naana Eyiah, Mr Patrick Amos Poku, Mrs Doreen Panyin Annan, Mr Michael Adjei Anyetei and Ms Benonita Bismarck .



Print Friendly

Leave a Comment